help exchange   Host 38199
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Kumara Junction
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 40
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 38199
Region: West Coast

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 22, 2020

I live on a 40 hectare property between Greymouth and Hokitika (most of which is native forest) with a view over the Taramakau river. The land and house need ongoing maintenance including gardening, gathering firewood, window cleaning, painting, and clearing tracks.
I also have some sheep, and occasionally need help with managing them.
My preference is someone (or couple)who has been raised in the countryside, is strong, and capable with machinery. An international drivers licence would be a bonus. I like people who work hard, and are capable of doing so without supervision. At the moment I am setting up a new outside enclosure for my hens and clearing firewood from a track through our forest a,nd working around my garden area and tunnelhouse...
I may need help with some cooking from time to time. My children are grown up, and not living at home...

In return for 4 hours work for every night you stay, I look after you well. The food is tasty wholesome farm cooking. Vegetarians are welcome.

I ask that people come to stay here for a minimum of 3 days. I work away from home most days during the week so I prefer that those days include a weekend when I am free to work with you/show you what to do

Because our climate here on the west coast can be wet, be prepared to work in the rain sometimes, although I try to find indoor work for you.

There is always some choice of work, and you can vary your hours to suit yourself, for example do a full days work then take the next day off.... There are 2 trail bicycles that you can use in your free time.

My property has wonderful views overlooking the river, and is secluded (although the property is close to the main highway). It offers great panoramic views of the river valley and walking access via tracks to both the river and through our native bush. There is excellent fishing in the river here throughout the year. Fishing is directly below our farmhouse. Presently it is salmon season but they are as usual hard to catch... There are often wild deer close by, but you have to be up very early to see them.

Most of the helpxers I have had have been people in their mid 20s. Many have stayed here longer than a week because they enjoyed the surroundings...
I provide good home prepared food and I like to have a good time. I have accommodation for you within the house and usually the use of a separate bathroom unless friends are staying, in which case it is shared.

Please note that my house is a no smoking zone!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use