Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 38309
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Friday to Tuesday morning
Area (ha): 0.2
Persons: 1 or 2 or a couple
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 38309
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 10, 2018

Hi, my name is Bronwyn and I live in the lovely, quiet hamlet of Glenlyon.

Glenlyon is one hour from Melbourne and 10 minutes from the tourist town of Daylesford where there are mineral springs, wineries etc. You can travel via car or public transport to reach me. If needed I can pick up from Melbourne and drive you back there. I can also pick up from public transport nearby.

My house is quite new and my land is half an acre in size (0.2 hectare). I would like help with spreading mulch, planting, weeding or spraying. Other work could include staining the deck (verandah) and a bit of cleaning. You do not need to have any experience but need to be happy to learn how to do these things, and be strong enough to wheel a wheelbarrow. We work for 4-6 hours per day. If you work quickly and thoroughly you will have more free time. If you work very slowly, you will work longer. There will be set jobs that need doing, so finishing the jobs is important.

I have, in the past, taken many first time HelpX helpers, but for now I will only accept helpers with references.

I prefer helpers who are 26 years old or over (then I don`t have to be a parent). If you are younger and would like to stay at my place, please explain why I should host you. I prefer people who can take initiative, are independent, enjoy a chat and have life experience.

I am also looking for happy, positive people, I am both of those things and like to be surrounded by people who are interested in learning new things, who are inquisitive and who love life. I have spent a lot of my life being a teacher, I have taught English in Malaysia and Spain and have taught people from 4 years old to 84 (mainly teenagers and adults though). I have also taught Doctors and Nurses in Papua New Guinea `how to teach`. So, if needed, I can help you with your English.

Accommodation is a room with a queen sized bed and your own bathroom. Couples are welcome. I can also put a single mattress on the floor in the study if needed, if two singles.
I supply shampoo, conditioner and body wash which are all chemical free. I have a septic system (sewerage waste water) and do not want chemicals on my land.

Regarding meals, we share the cooking. I enjoy cooking but would like for you to cook for me as well as me cooking for you. I can teach you to cook if you are not very experienced. I can accommodate meat eaters or vegetarians, although we usually eat whatever we grow, so often the meals are vegetarian. No smoking or drugs are allowed in my house or on my property. Wine is Ok though. If you are beer drinkers you will need to bring your own as I don`t usually have beer in the house.

A visit to my house involves being part of a community. We work together, cook and clean together. I will introduce you to my neighbours and family who live close by. We will have people over for dinner at least once while you are here so you will get to meet more people. Some of my neighbours are involved in HelpX too so often you get to meet other helpers.

I have wifi which you are able to use. There is mobile phone coverage if you are with Telstra, but please note other carriers do not work on my property.

I prefer that all helpers have travel insurance, please let me know if you have when you apply.

I have travelled the world and enjoy meeting new people. I speak only English but am currently learning Spanish and am happy to practice it. I have done quite a bit of `couch surfing` and love the idea of meeting and helping out travellers. This time however, I need a bit of help around my property so thought HelpX would be prefect for me and hopefully perfect for you too.

I am mainly at the house on weekends or between Friday and Tuesdays, so only 2 to 4 nights are available at this stage. During the week I work in Melbourne and help my elderly parents. Please do not ask to stay longer than the four days that I am offering. If you do I will know that you have not read my profile and I will not accept you.

Thank you for reading to the end of my profile. If you are still interested in staying with me and helping in the garden send me a message. In that message I want you to mention my name (Bronwyn) and tell me if you play a musical instrument. In this way I can tell if you have read my profile and are serious about staying with me. Thank you and hope to hear from you.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use