Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 3838
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Athlone
All Year: no
Area (ha): 1/2 hectare maybe
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 3838
Country: Ireland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 12, 2018

hello helpers

please read our profile fully before sending a
message :)

last minute requests suit us fine, we don't plan too far ahead.

we welcomed a little girl into the house on new years day 2016 so helpers would need to be comfortable around a 2 1/2 year old.

We are looking for people who we would like to spend time with. people with enthusiasm, common sense and the ability to do physical manual work. "non smokers only", creative helpers welcomed.

we basically are looking for someone who wants to learn by doing and is not afraid of work.
we enjoy having helpers but we prefer helpers who are interested in what we are doing not someone who just wants to extend their holiday.
I (paul) have helpxed myself in Sweden, France, UK and a few places in Ireland. It's a great way to experience new places. I am a member of couchsurfing if you want to know more about me, see my web links above.
I live with my german partner Claudia. we met on a two year Permaculture course. Now we got our hands on this old cottage and are trying to improve the place.
we are experimenting with hugelkultur (1m high raised beds) , swales,forest gardening fruit and nut orchards and any other mad ideas we can come up with.
You would sleep in a bed in your own room.
We like to eat well so the food will be good quality (mostly home grown and organic) and mostly vegetarian. you will need to cook also.
The nearest village is about 1km away and it has a shop and 3 pubs.our neighbour also has helpers so they normally meet with our helpers and end up hanging out a bit.
The work:
depends on what’s happening during your visit.
We have lots of different things we want to do and will try to make it as interesting as possible for helpers, doing what you are good at. There is always some gardening (yes, including weeding:-) and general looking after the place.
if you practice meditation i would like some company in kick-starting my practice again.
If you are creative or artistic, we would love for you to do something interesting around the place.
I have some nice paintings and mosaics helpers have done. If you want to experiment with something, i.e. small building stuff, green woodworking then you could do that here also.
I carve spoons, (a lot of helpers leave with there own spoon they made themselves) make walking sticks and do a little wood turning on a pole lathe using green (unseasoned)wood.

We have ducks and geese.
we also use a compost toilet.
Everyone has a lot more to learn so hopefully you can teach us something new also,
if you are interested feel free to ask any questions :)
i think its better to write to one or two hosts at a time, helpers seem to be in the habit of writing to many hosts at once.
it wastes time for helper and host in my opinion,

we might skype before confirming your stay.
thanks for reading this far,

Paul Claudia and Alma

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use