Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 38436
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: May-Aug (full)
Area (ha): 3.00
Persons: 1
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 38436
Country: Sweden

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 2, 2017

There are five separate households at Hallbjens. Two of us share the vege garden which is around 0.2 hectares, a smaller and a bigger patch. Organic since 1973. This was once a biodynamic farm that sold vegetables to shops. Now the owner is retired and the vege garden is grown for household use (simply organic, not permaculture or bidynamic). We grow an annual consumption of veges.
Quiet place, surrounded by forest, off the main roads. One of the houses was once a trailer, now built into a summer house where we're just about installing running water (one host lives here). One house, once a chicken house, is surrounded by built on rooms and connected to the barn by a green house, and there's an apartment in the barn (where the other host lives). There are two other houses on the property as well.
We can host one wwoofer for a couple of weeks at a time (sometimes longer) for gardening work, weeding, planting, mulching and sometimes later in the season with harvesting. There's some other work projects too like painting, biulding a garden stone wall and some carpenting.
We'd like you to share some house shores as well, like food preparation, washing dishes and carrying water.
Work can be week days or weekends, around five hours a day, five days a week. You'll be working with both hosts.
Stay: A cabin is provided in summer with outdoor compost toilet. Here you can also make tea and breakfast. There's also a guest space divided by curtains to the living room in the summer house for shorter stays. Internet is available.
There are nice small roads and paths in the area for bicycling, and we will also find some opportunities to take trips to some hidden treasures around the island.
I, Anja (who's writing and host in the summer house), have traveled a lot, like the arts and painting, meditation, philosophy and the deeper meaning of things, different cultures, nature naturally..., sustainable living...etc
I wont say anything about Christer, the other host's interests, he will tell you himself when you meet.

We are also WWOOFers and you can find reviews of our place "Hallbjens" at
PS Helpers need travel insurance.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use