Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 3849
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Algarve
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 3
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 3849
Country: Portugal

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 23, 2018

14 day minimum stay-having people come and go is tiring and it takes a while to adjust to eco house lifestyle. Friendly experienced help required [animal friendly people 2 dogs and a cat here]who respect creativity.We are only 13 minutes WALK through countryside from a very special unspoilt clean ocean sandy beach in a designated protected natural park area.Due to injury and other difficulties this year; we don`t feel we have the right level of enthusiastic energy to be the best introduction to helpxing for inexperienced helpers. We need general friendly help from July 2018 and onwards. . We like 24 hours work each week each person + a bit of vegetable chopping/washing up this is for your accommodation and all your food (see our reviews)
We would value and appreciate an intelligent willing supportive person to help with de-cluttering -organising house etc ,housework painting,weeding, pruning.We always need someone who can dry stone wall using the stones that are on the land, as long as the walls stay up- and withstand sheep and goats they will do.If possible then some repairs too;any/all of these could be livened up with a bit of painting/mosaic work if that appealed ( if skilled in and/or willing to dry stone wall that would be a welcome bonus for us and we could add some paid hours). (longterm help is also now available for 6months/a year for the right person) Please tell us what you have to offer that we need as well as what you want to experience when you ask to come here. At the moment friendly general support as above would be great- seasonal outdoor jobs (we put these to show the variety of work here -NOT to expect anyone to do them all), weeding, painting gathering pine cones almond cracking organising the compost.If at the right time of the month would be great to have someone come with us to the secondhand market and sell the stuff we declutter together. In preparation for the permaculture (delayed this year due to injury etc) the main outdoor help we need is a lot of dry stone wall building gate making and land clearing and marking The other things we need (to break up the outdoor work ) are driving (for shopping and taking away rubbish etc, general housework and painting and organising .Until further notice we now need EXPERIENCED helpxers(or woofers who can provide references from those they have helped),we would like you to have basic life skills (wash up, sweep/vacuum a floor UNASKED!!! clear up after you as you go along etc)This year we would like a friendly woman to help re-organise and paint and clean perhaps mosaic too starting soon-of course she may be a wonderwoman and able to be a stone waller and general handy person too!!!. We are looking for super friendly stable helpers with references . .We would like you to be able to be happy here-it is good for you and nicer for us (this is not a business so the good relaxed time is very important).

For people who like more beach /walking/free time.We can provide accommodation only and buy your gas for you to cook for yourself plus provide for you 2 ring cooker and gas and potsandpans, plates cutlery and at least 1 lift a week to andfrom big shops-village is nice 3 k walk for your bitsand pieces)for which we ask 12 hours work per person + a bit of floor sweeping or similar. It is a very beautiful area so still a lovely place to visit.
Also an interesting mosaic project waits for the right person ie with the bravery and inspiration and the wish to stay for longer, longer for us would be a month or more.1 cat here and 2 dogs so not suitable for people with allergies.This is not a business so we value above all friendly easy going stable helper/s used to/can adapt to.. low energy rural lifestyles. People who are happy to share for a while our lovely situation in a beautiful peaceful part of Portugal..This is tiny footprint living with solar energy and only rainwater,which is limited but unpolluted and better than most water on the planet. We always try to be relaxed and flexible with our helpers ie interchange heavy/grotty tasks with light/clean/fun ones and coordinate with helpers to provide good leisure time-see our reviews. Non or EXTREMELY considerate smokers please.If you can give us a landline (or skype name)or facebook messenger number/id we really like to ring you to ensure as much as is possible that it will be a good experience for us all Recently a helper wrote a review suggesting the situation here had changed from the past- this is not the case the situation is the same as it has always been albeit that last year due to bereavement and injury and drought life was not as easy or as happy as could be wished .With what we`ve written and all the reviews you have a lot of info,please read well before asking to come,great if you tell us what you would be happy to try/competent at from the variety we need as written here. We believe happy help is the best help and the good tolerant heart from both sides makes for a true exchange. We live 17km from Lagos 18km from Sagres 3km from Figueira in a natural park-in western Algarve. The accomodation is basic either a detached wood cabin with own solar panel compost toilet (at a short walk away from cabin) woodstove sink 2 ring cooker;( this is for your tea/coffee in the early morning,the meals you eat with us -unless you choose accommodation only).or a small bedroom in main house(not a posh "tout comme il faut" villa) May-October some other options too . Many books on food health, personal growth, myths and quality fiction.There is an acoustic guitar you can play while you are here if you are missing yours.I teach massage, creative listening, healing through diet+intro to aromatherapy+chakra work email us andstart a dialogue.If u love countryside and beach-it`s a great place to be."peace comes dropping slow" Thank you all the great helpers we have had here Bless you all, do check the references they gave us. We look forward to more. Happy travelling and helpxing.Photos are of The centre of the ceiling a helpx assisted project,the local area, the local (12 mins walk away)beach, trees etc outside our house,beach from above Quietly beautiful.


Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use