Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 3857
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Lochgilphead
All Year: All year
Area (ha): 20
Persons: 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 3857
Country: Scotland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 3, 2018

We are interested in hosting helpers for up to a week at a time. Our 3 children have all left home so it is very quiet around here - if you want an exciting time, this is probably not the place to visit! We have three holiday cottages, vegetable, willow and fruit plot, bees and a small flock of hens. James has a small saw mill to convert locally grown timber, a firewood processor to produce firewood and woodworking machinery. Our heating is from a high tech log fueled boiler. Photo voltaic panels provide some of our electricity. Jane looks after the cottages and garden and makes baskets. The work is varied and dependent on time of year. Gardening, grass cutting, willow harvesting and sorting, firewood, fencing, scrub cutting, cottage changeovers, building maintenance. This is a beautiful area to explore.

The nearest town is 9 miles away with very limited public transport so you really need your own transport.

What we are offering is accommodation in a two bedroom self catering holiday cottage next to our house with all mod cons and wifi. The cottage is part of our business and is let to holidaymakers during the season so must be looked after and left in a clean and tidy condition. There will be a range of dry goods (rice, pasta, flour etc) in the store cupboard along with herbs, spices, tea, coffee, sugar and produce from the garden when available so you don`t have to provide those sorts of things.

In return, we ask for about 3 hours work per day which can be arranged to suit yourselves. You will have one full day off per week. You can choose from a range of jobs and we will not ask you to do anything you are not happy to do.

Our perfect helpers are two people travelling together so you have company and don`t need us to entertain you all the time - after a busy day, we quite like our evenings to ourselves. You should be self motivated, independently minded and good communicators. We are a non-smoking household. We will treat you with respect and hope you will do the same for us.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use