Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 38612
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Lismore
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Other
Host ID: 38612
Region: New South Wales

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 18, 2018

We are renting a house on a macadamia farm, about 45 min. inland from Byron Bay, about 20 minutes from Lismore and about 45 minutes from Nimbin.We have our own fruit orchard and a few vegie gardens where we grow our food organically.
We are a family with 2 boys (5 and 10) and we are into sustainable living with growing lots of our own food , preserving food, making relishes and jams, making our own sourdough bread, making yogurt and sometimes even cheese, miso or tofu. We are trying to reuse and recycle as much as we can and we are into making things by ourselves ( knitting, sewing, spinning, wool dying with plants,paper making,mosaic making, basket weaving,eco printing, turning old t-shirts into baskets,bags and rugs.....all things crafty :-) )and we are into living lightly on the earth.
We are a bilingual family,and we speak english and german, with Martina being from Germany and Tom from Australia. So we do appreciate having people around the kids can speak in german with, but we are also happy for them to speak english with you:-).
Martina is a Hypnobirthing Australia practitioner and Tom has just finished his studies.
We are asking for 3-4 hours work a day, with Sundays off to have fun.Work would include helping in the vegie gardens (planting,weeding( there is lots of weeding at the moment:-)), watering, help with preserving,having fun with the kids,general housework , helping in the schoolgarden of our oldest son, helping Martina cut up old t-shirts and turning them into something new, and having chats with Martina and Tom.Also if you have any idea of how to set up a website, Martina would appreciate some help with that :-).
There are also lots of things to do around here. We are very close to the Nightcap National Park with beautiful bushwalks and stunning waterfalls. Here on the property is a cave full of glow worms and bats and a waterfall in front of it and a creek with a platypus in it. There is Rocky Creek Dam in walking distance (1km down the road) with beautiful rainforest walks, and we also have a pool to cool down after work :-). And every 2nd Sunday there is the famous Channon craft market 10min drive from where we are.So there is lots to do and see around here :-).

Looking forward to meeting you!

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use