Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 38614
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

via Apollo Bay
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1-4
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 38614
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 9, 2018

Thanks to HelpX and Airbnb I have had the pleasure to host folk from England, France, Germany, Australia, Poland, Italy, America, India, Switzerland, Scotland and China and more in my home surrounded by farmland and National Park forests, with valley and Southern Ocean views above the famous Great Ocean Road 18 kms from Apollo Bay on all weather road, where Koalas, Kangaroos, Wallabies, Kookaburras and Echidnas abound. Birdlife is abundant, including the Rufus Bristlebird which is found ONLY here in their habitat specific Otways . We have Waterfalls and bushwalks, beaches for surf and swimming, Art/Craft galleries and there is Music almost every weekend of the year. Bushwalking and cycling are very popular in the district.
A VLine bus runs between Geelong and Apollo Bay (about 3 hours) and transport can be arranged from Apollo Bay or Skenes Creek at a small fee.
I love to meet new people, learn about their culture and share mine and host them in my home in exchange for some help to set up my gardens and animal yards and housing, as well as some help with the housework and improvements and with technology. I have sadly come to accept i can no longer manage having larger livestock so Panda and Petal have gone to new homes. I will focus on chickens and smaller pets and create a beautiful garden. I am awaiting knee surgery so will soon (hopefully) need even more help than previously to care for animals and run the house while I recover. Hours of work in exchange for accommodation and meals is negotiated upon contact, a rough guide is 2 hours of work for a night`s accommodation and 3-4 hours for all meals and accommodation. This is very flexible depending on skill level and includes 3 meals a day. The work is usually by no means arduous and I do not crack the whip. Saturday is a no work day, Sunday is negotiable and Wednesday each week I go to town for choir, shopping etc. except during school holidays. Helpers are well fed and not treated like slaves, are expected to keep their own room clean and clean up after themselves and help with meals prep and cooking. I no longer provide free internet, it has been costing me more than I can afford and travellers these days have their own mobile phones with their own data in their plan. Aust. does not have free unlimited internet. Hosting guests through Airbnb also, we need to keep the house as clean as possible, especially bathroom, toilet and kitchen! Currently I have two single beds available and a double bed. There is also the Art/Craft room containing a single bed and two thick foam mattresses which can make a very comfortable double bed or a super comfy single, and the office/library which has 2 single beds which can push together to make a king size bed. A shared bathroom and separate inside toilet, a laundry and a well appointed kitchen. There is a sitting room with TV, and another with music player and instruments. Also a huge Art/Crafts room and a computer room/library. There is more than enough room if you want to set up your tent and "camp out". A deck out the back with tables and chairs gives one a relaxing place to enjoy the outdoors. Guests can be self catering or share in my cooking and meals. My kitchen is kind of "Kosher": no pig products or shellfish allowed. Smoking must be done outside not inside the house, and butts placed into ashtray or rubbish NOT dropped on the ground.
As I have ONLY tank water no mains water, showers or baths are limited to one per person each 24 hours and please try to take only 5 minutes. Personally, I get wet, turn the water off and soap up and scrub, then turn the water back on and enjoy rinsing off. :)
I take my non driving guests to town with me when I go in if they want to come and sometimes I take them somewhere for a treat, even my neighbour has done so.
I am 61, mother of two adult daughters, have a very spoiled white cat, a new beautiful British Blue cat who is still finding his place in the household, a growing bantum x chook population. Also a pair of cockatiels.
Unfortunately I only speak English.
Photos: 1. Study now has 2 beds not just 1. 2. Twin share private room. 3. Single bed in Art/Craft area, there is enough space for 2 mattresses on the floor in here also. 4. Double bed private room. 5. Panda and Petal and 6. Some of the chooks at the door waiting to be fed.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use