Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 38652
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 5
Persons: 1
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 38652
Region: Christchurch

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 15, 2018

We are looking for a strong guy (or gal) who is capable with days of physical work outside who has common sense and can be given tasks to complete on their own. Work required is 5 hours a day.

We live approximately 20 minutes out of Christchurch on a beautiful lifestyle block. We have horses, sheep and often a couple of cattle beasts. We also have an array of birdlife, including ducks, ducklings and peacocks and hens as well as 'Tilly' the cat. Additionally our son has recently adopted a young German Shepard.

Having your own transport is ideal, however there is a bus at the end of the road that will take you into town and then you can travel all around Christchurch from there. You can visit the beautiful Akaroa and the many vineyards and cafes. We are relatively close to the new mountain biking adventure park where you can hire a bike and spend an afternoon, and there are so many walks on the port hills and the surrounds.

We both work and find it hard to complete all the tasks around the property ie strimming, weeding, weed spraying, general farm and outdoor tasks, which are all physical jobs.

You will be living in the house with us, working around 25-30 hours a week. Your accommodation is a very comfortable large bedroom with your own en-suite. All meals are provided. We start with one week with the possibility of a longer time, depending on the work needed.

We welcome you to be part of our family and as such we all muck in and share the general household duties, ie dishwasher, washing up, hanging out washing (basically what your mother would expect you to do at home). :)

The Port Hills are just on our door step and our daughter and partner are often up there climbing, walking or mountain biking. Facing west is the Alps where they can also be found adventuring about, so there is always something to do!

At this time of the year I am often (and sometimes my daughter joins me) away in the weekends at show jumping competitions or A&P (Agricultural) Shows. There may be times when you are welcome to join me at these shows and the A&P's are a fantastic insight into our small rural communities.

At the moment we have lots of physical outside jobs to do such as mowing lawns, pulling weeds, general maintenance, trough cleaning, fence moving, the list goes on and on... plus help with feeding out the cattle and horses in the morning and evening, shifting fence breaks and cleaning out the yards and paddocks on a daily basis.

As we are very busy with work we really would like someone who is able to cook or who has the initiative to start making tea (dinner) if it looks like it will be a late evening. We love to try different foods and if you aren't sure, there are plenty of recipe books to guide you. We all love to cook, and enjoy meals around the table with a glass of wine and good conversation!

One last note; We will give preference to helpers who have a photo over those who don't, we quite like to see who we are hosting and recognise you if we need to pick you up.

We look forward to hearing from you!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use