help exchange   Host 38675
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 38675
Country: Brazil

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 4, 2019

Hello there!

Our holding is situated in the countryside of Monteiro Lobato (Mantiqueira Mountains region), a small village about 2h20min away from the International airport of São Paulo-Guarulhos. It's easy to get here. There's a bus (about R$25,00) from the international airport that goes to the city of São José dos Campos and from this station you just need another bus to Monteiro Lobato (around 50 min., about R$5,00).

We've been rescuing abandoned, neglected dogs and cats for many years, always trying to find new lovely homes for them, which isn't always possible, so we now live with 14 dogs and 10 cats; we have a few ducks as well.

If you want some peace and quiet and enjoy being surrounded by animals and forest, this is for you! Must not be afraid of spiders and frogs! :)


This is a vegan* household and we cannot cater for meat eaters or ovo-lacto vegetarians.

*Why vegan? Please watch:

We work from home (for a company that organizes conferences), and there's loads to do here, so it's difficult to manage that all by ourselves. We're now only two people (also, Tiago has a back problem and cannot do much hard work) and need help to give the animals and land the proper attention and care they deserve.

We ask helpers to work around 6 hours per day, 5 days a week. It's okay if you want to go away during weekends or even go on longer trips and then return here.

If it's rainy, expect to get a bit muddy. Dogs might jump on you and come to you for petting; so you need to be cool about your clothes getting dirty sometimes! Bring old clothes. :)

There are many tasks we need help with:

General household chores, especially cleaning and tidying;
Walking some of the dogs and washing them; washing their houses and bowls;
Help looking after and feeding the animals;
Renovating the house;
Collecting tree branches and raking leaves;
Grass cutting;
Wall painting;
General carpentry;
You could also help with our vegetable garden; etc.

You must be ok about working by yourself since we can't be with you all the time.

We accept helpers over 18 years old (couples are welcome; max 2 people at a time).

You'd have your own bedroom and toilet.

We cook lunch (our main meal) around 1pm and we'll try and have it together, but we ask you to help yourself regarding breakfast, afternoon tea/snacks and evening meals. Feel free to eat and cook whenever you like; make yourself at home!

We're very grateful to live here and want this to be a pleasing experience to both helpers and hosts, so we expect ease-going, proactive, simple, open-minded, responsible helpers. If for some reason you don't adapt and feel like leaving earlier, feel free to tell us and leave at any point; we're totally ok with that.

If you have any question, just let us know and we'll be happy to answer!

About internet:
Although we are only 1 km from the village centre, we live in a rural area with no high-speed internet. We do have 3G internet connection that is shared through Wi-Fi. It can peak at 3 mbps at night, but most of the time it’s only 1 mbps – which is enough for general browsing (email, news, Facebook, etc), but not really suitable for videos, Torrent or any heavy content (Netflix, etc). Since we depend on this connection to work from home, we ask for your understanding. :)

P.S.: This is a very safe, peaceful area.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use