Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 38811
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: June/July
Area (ha):
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 38811
Country: Finland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 9, 2015

No need for helpers right now (9.8.- ).

Hello! :)

We are a Finnish family of five persons. Dad Timo, mum Päivi and youth Ville (21 years), Salla (19 years) and Kaisa (16 years). In our family there also belongs a cat called Miisu and a Samoyed puppy called Mosku. We are an outgoing and active family that loves nature and doing things by ourselves. Salla has been a volunteer worker through Helpx this winter. She stayed in France for a month with her Danish boyfriend and knows how it is to be a helper and what helpers wish from a host family. :)

We are offering a homestay for about two weeks or as fixed for two helpers (a couple or friends) in two totally different places in Finland during June and July depending on the time you would arrive and what you would be interested of. We live in Southern Finland in a town called Hämeenlinna and there is some work you could help us with at our home. We also have a cottage in Inari, Northern Lapland. The cottage is not totally finished building yet so we could also have a use for some extra hands there in our building project. Next I will tell about both the places more detailed.

Right now we are living in Southern Finland in a town called Hämeenlinna. It’s about 100km north from the capital city Helsinki. We have a rather big house and yard and even though we live only about 4km away from Hämeenlinna town centre, our home is situated in a nice and peaceful area with forests and lakes nearby. We are having our roof repainted in July and before that we need to get some preparation done. For that we could really use some help. It would be simple building work that we can partly do with you when we can. We also just got our puppy during the winter time and we have been planning to build a fence for him to the yard so he wouldn’t always need to be in the leash when staying outside. ? When living in a big house with a big yard there is always something little to do in the garden or the house. Basically your work would contain simple building tasks, taking care of the garden (for example mowing the grass) and taking part to the everyday household duties. Also our active and energetic puppy would be very happy if you would take him for a walk to the forest sometimes. ;) We are ready to be flexible about the working times, but as a guideline we were thinking of about 5 to 6 hours of work a day with two free days per week. You could also choose what time of the day you would like to work and have breaks whenever you feel like it. We have a nice lake pretty near to where we live so you can go and take a swim sometimes and come back to continue your work. ? We don’t want you to work FOR us but more like WITH us. :) We are doing a lot of things by ourselves and we like it but some extra hands would be handy when our youth is having their own summer jobs. We offer you all the food and a place to sleep either in the house or in the caravan we have in our yard if you like more privacy. We expect you to take part in the tasks that come around in everyday living. What's interesting about staying in Hämeenlinna is to see cultural and historical places such as the medieval castle of Hämeenlinna and different interesting museums. Around Hämeenlinna you can also see typical Finnish nature and forests. Hämeenlinna also has a University of Applied Sciences and many young people live here. The town centre is not too far away from our home so you can easily go to town to see other young people and have fun. Even nearer than the town centre is located a nice lake with sand beach and young people like to gather here and play beachvolley and swim in summer.

We used to live in Northern Lapland in Inari when the kids were small. Later on we have been having a long project (or more like a hobby) building a log cottage to Inari. Now the cottage is about to be finished, but we are planning on building a little storage building to the yard. We are going to travel to Inari around the halfway of June, but we haven't decided the exact dates. We can also try to arrange our travel times a little bit by your schedule if you would be interested in helping us at our cottage. Also at the cottage your tasks would mainly contain simple building tasks that we would do partly together. Also here we offer you food and a place to sleep in the cottage. Interesting about staying in Inari with us is the arctic nature, living in a cottage in the middle of nature right next to a beautiful lake, seeing different animals such as reindeer. Basically this is your place if you love staying in nature with not many people around. We are happy to show you around the area where our cottage is. You can take nice walks to the mountains nearby and get to know about the lifestyle of the Sami people (the only indigenous people in Scandinavia). The town of Inari is small and does not have very much action going on, but it's really relaxing to stay at the cottage in the peaceful surrounding.

I can tell you a little bit more about our family. We all are scouts and like nature and new people.

Timo (dad) is working for the Administration of Finnish Nature and taking care of the services in all the national parks of Finland. He has been working in the field of nature for all his life so he can tell you a lot about the nature around. He is very handy and is able to prepare everything that happens to break! He is good at oganizing fun program to everyone.

Päivi (mum) is a very warm person who likes to do a lot with her hands. She is knitting and sewing amazing clothes and likes cooking and baking. She likes animals and kids and music a lot. She is very creative and smiley person.

Ville is a 21-year-old boy who does a lot of sports. He likes all kind of sports with action and has tried many different kinds from skiing to underwater rugby. He is applying to the Medical University of Tampere to became a doctor. He went to military this year and is now living at home. He has a summerjob and might not be home all the time.

Salla is a 19-year-old girl who loves music and handy crafts. She plays the piano and a little bit of guitar and sings. She is sewing and knitting like her mother. She has a Danish boyfriend and speaks English everyday with him. Together they play a lot of music and have been travelling a lot. She has experience of Helpx and really recommends it. After graduating from the upper secondary school she took a gap year and is now applying to the University of Tampere to become a primary school teacher. She is having a summer job in a hiking equipment store.

Kaisa is a 16-year-old girl who also likes handy crafts and sports. Of sports she likes to do specially orienteering. She is now on the first grade of upper secondary school. She is going to an international scout camp to Japan in July and is very excited about that.

Mosku is a 5-months-old Samoyed puppy full of energy and happiness. Miisu is a 2-year-old cat lady who likes to stay on her own but sometimes wants cuddling as well.

We have been living in very different parts of Finland so we can give you a good overview of how Finland is. We have had an exchange student from Canada and like to get international guests. We all speak good English and are very excited to show you all kind of typical and untypical things of Finland. We do not expect to get workers for free but wish to gain a great and fun experiece for both you and us. Let's work and have fun together! :)

If you got interested of either of the places (Inari or Hämeenlinna) feel free to contact us and ask some questions. We can also organize a Skype meeting if you like.

With friendly greetings from Finland,
Timo, Päivi, Ville, Salla and Kaisa Kukko

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use