help exchange   Host 38859
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.75
Persons: 1-2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 38859
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 17, 2015

To be quite honest I'm a terrible cook so I would welcome anyone who likes to exercise their domestic goddess skills!
We live in a mudbrick home on 3/4 of an acre in beautiful East Warburton. My children and I lead a busy life in peaceful surroundings.
We are 10mins drive out from the township of Warburton, and about 1hr an half drive from the city of Melbourne. Although there are three buses a day to the top of our street, I highly recommend you have your own form of transport. The Yarra Valley offers many delights, but frequent public transport is not one of them.
From Buddhist temples to skate parks and snow, there are many local attractions, but truly the most wonderful is to be in the mountains, with the river flowing near and towering gums.

We would offer a small room with a double bed. I will supply food, and free wifi. Currently I am renovating our spare bathroom, so we would share the one bathroom. We are non smoking and drug free.
We also have a very large dog, fish and some chooks.
There is plenty of room if you have a camper van etc.

Mobile phone reception runs out just down the road from our house. Some people do receive text messages and you are welcome to use the home phone. (International calls to be negotiated at the time)
I also have wifi with large download, so Skype, face time etc can be used.

On such a large block, and having two kids (6 and 8), there is always things to be done in the house and garden. Including wood chopping, raking, cooking, cleaning, weeding, washing.
I also have some larger projects I need to tackle like house painting, rendering, hedge trimming, restarting the vegie patch, fencing.
If you have the skills I need some basic plumbing, electrical and building work done too.
I expect you to get on with my children, (they will be fascinated by you) but do not expect you to care for them.

I am fairly flexible with how many hours work you do, and you may find other work in the area, fruit picking etc. I have so many other things happening at the moment, that general household maintenance is what I need help with most.

There may be times when we go away for a night or two and I would ask you to look after our animals.

I work part time during the week and am home most evenings. I also facilitate and attend women's circles in the area. My kids are both in school and see their dad regularly. They are generally well behaved and enjoy visitors.

I will consider hosting your children, but under no circumstances will I have other animals on the property.

We look forward to sharing our home with you and learning about your home too. Especially the food!

Enjoy your travels. I wish they had something like this when I was traveling!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use