Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 38883
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 16
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 38883
Region: Tasmania

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 18, 2016

Do you have an interest in becoming self sufficient? In managing pasture, working with livestock, cultivating food gardens? Home butchering of livestock? Hunting rabbits and keeping bees? How about baking, cheesemaking, or cooking good hearty meals for groups of 6-10?

We've a 40acre farm in the picturesque North East region of Tasmania, and these are all things we are hoping to achieve here. Situated along the Ringarooma River (where there are trout in abundance!), our property currently has our horses, chickens, goats and cattle, pigs, ducks, an apiary - and is likely to acquire anything else along these lines (such as geese, if anyone has Touloluse Geese we'd love to hear from them!)

We are a young, Australian family (two children under 5years) with celtic cultural roots. We like good food and good company! We are social people, and have other local farming friends who also take on HelpX guests.

Branxholm is a small townlet between Scottsdale (main commercial hub of NE Tas)and Derby (Home to the Blue Derby, Mountain Bike Trails), along the Tasman Highway. We have a small general store, and a pub within walking distance of the front gate, as well as a bus stop on the route to town.

Our local wildlife includes but is not limited to; Wedgetail eagles, yellow tailed black cockatoos & several varieties of native parrots, wild rabbits, wallabies and platypus down at the river. There are several rabbit warrens on the property meaning you can watch the bunnies play in the morning and afternoon.

We have many projects on the go at present including;
- building animal housing
- clearing weeds away from & repairing fencing
- digging & building a fire pit
- market vegetable garden creation and maintenance
- establishment of a fruit orchard
- collection & splitting firewood
- clearing old farm "mess" from outbuildings to return them to a useable state
- chipping out thistles & blackberries from the pastures

Having only acquired the farm in recent years, we are hoping to return this property to her former glory, and continuously improve.

Typical winter fare for us is hot breakfasts (oat porridge or eggs & bacon... pancakes on Sundays etc) with quick lunches (sandwiches etc) and a hearty hot meal in the evening - stews and soups, roasted meats, baked sausages etc. Pretty much everything made here, not a lot in the way of processed foods - we do eat a lot of meat/eggs/dairy products along with plenty of vegetables, but would be willing to work with a vegetarian.

We travel into Scottsdale several times per fortnight, and visit events, and markets in our surrounding district. Being new to the area ourselves, we frequently like to go exploring and check out new places. We buy as much locally sourced food as possible - from farms and gardens in our surrounding areas. You would be able to travel with us to see farm gate stalls in the local and surrounding areas.

We are interested in guests who would wish to live and work as part of the family, either a single person or a couple. We offer a large (QS), warm bed in a cosy East-facing room, with access to wifi if required. (Please note there is only the one room / bed available!)

Whilst this is not a paid position, food and accommodation is included.

Our home is the original timber farmhouse for the property and has been renovated, with a large open kitchen, fireplaces for heating, a modern bathroom and timber floors throughout that are soft beneath your feet.

If this sounds like your ideal farmstay HelpX experience, please send us an email, telling us all about yourself and what skills you have.

If you email us, we will reply to you generally within 24 hours - we ask that you return the same courtesy.

Please note we are unable to take in smokers, or persons under 18 years of age.

NEXT AVAILABILITY November 2016 please contact for details etc

Busses available [url][/url]

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use