Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 38942
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: yes
Area (ha): 2
Persons: 1/2/3 - 2/3 ideal
Category: Other
Host ID: 38942
Country: Ireland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 20, 2018

Hi there
Looking for helpers for a week or two weeks at a time to help with the restoration. . If you have specific carpentry or brick laying skills we may also be able to pay you if you wish to work extra hours. We are also looking for an au pair or au pair/helper couple for a longer stay (min 6 months and you will be given a car, phone, money, own private studio etc).

We are renovating a 19th century Victorian house and gardens. As part of that renovation we are also renovating the gardens and introducing an organic fruit and veg plot. We are looking for help in doing up the the house first and the garden and starting the organic plot later. Jobs include restoring windows, painting walls, moving rubble, restoring staircases,scraping paint, painting. In the garden we would need help with weeding, planting, grass cutting. We tend to work with you on what jobs you would most like to do.

We ask for around 6 hours a day 4 days a week. You then have the other three days off. Ideally we would like you to work one weekend day ie the Saturday but if you have booked to go away, then we can accomodate that. In exchange you get all food and accomodation and we will drop you off locally within reason, if you don't have a bike or car. We also provide towels and bedlinen. We usually all eat together Monday to Thursday evening when we cook. On the other days we provide you with what you need to cook in your own kitchen. You are also welcome to join us on the trips we take with our kids but in the run up to opening, these are fewer than before. We therefore invite you to be independent and meet people yourself and explore. Research what you want to see before you come. Plan your weekends as transport in Ireland can be difficult. The house and gardens were abandoned around twenty years ago so there is tons to do. We can also accommodate someone more interested in cleaning, painting, up cycling, cooking etc. We can potentially accommodate all times of the year so drop us a line to see. We are an international household with two children, an au pair (in his 20s who can also show you around) and a dog. You would usually stay in our studio or in our three bedroom flat with TV and WIFI.

For the au pair role you would work around the same time but must be over 25 and have a European driving licence.

We are in Kildare around 3km from Clane, Kildare, Ireland which is around a 40 minutes drive from Dublin. We are around 1 hour from Dublin by bus, 2.5km walk/cycle/drive into clane. We can pick you up from Naas if you are coming from the airport or from Clane.We look forward to meeting you!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use