Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 39038
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Spring - Fall
Area (ha): 12.14
Persons: 1 or 2 or family
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 39038
Region: Alberta

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 14, 2015

We are a small, quiet family living on 30 acres in rural Alberta ... trying to become more self-reliant and 'clean'. We raise sheep, pigs and chickens for food, grow our own organic veggies and have horses, dogs and cats for pleasure.

We are looking for helpers who love the outdoors, enjoy working and playing with animals, like to garden, wouldn't mind cooking, are handy with a chainsaw/post hole digger and everyday construction tools and can drive a quad. (none of these are mandatory .. but it would sure make your work here a lot easier!!)

Because my husband works off the farm and I am in treatment for Lyme disease, helpers will be expected to work independently much of the time. We ask that you work 2 hours for each day/night of your stay with weekends off. You will be expected to provide your own food and cook your own meals. This is a necessity because our energies and budget are quite restricted due to our current health issues. The kitchen will be open to you from 7am to 8pm .. just make sure you clean up after yourself. (:

jobs/projects may include:
planting/weeding/harvesting the garden
pickling produce
feeding/watering the livestock
cuddling the lambs
building/barn maintenance
fence repair or building new fences
pasture maintenance
brush clearing/wood cutting
rain collection/irrigation projects
berry picking/jam making
apple picking/coring/freezing
egg collection
manure raking
compost care
stall cleaning
cooking (if you like to cook!!)
house cleaning (if you like to clean!!)

We will provide a tent for housing and welcome you to use the washroom in our house.

Because we live in the country you will need to have your own transportation. The nearest town is 40 minutes away. And the nearest city centre (Calgary airport) is a 2 hour drive!! While staying with us we would encourage you to check out the near-by Royal Tyrell Museum and the Badlands Passion Play (July) which are both world renown attractions. On your weekends you may want to take a longer trip and visit the beautiful Rocky Mountains (Banff/Lake Louise/Jasper). Here you could do things like hike the back trails, white water rafting, swim in the hot springs, ride the gondola up Sulphur Mountain ... and maybe even catch sight of wild elk, big horn sheep, moose, and bears (oh my!!)

We keep our home and property drug, alcohol and smoke free and would expect all helpers to do the same. This is a family friendly homestay and we welcome singles and couples. Families with children may also find this a suitable 'working holiday' as there is a lot for a kid to do and enjoy here at the farm and our children would love the addition of a few playmates.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use