Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 39317
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 10
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 39317
Country: Ireland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 10, 2015

We built our own house on 10 hectares of what they call here : 'rough grazing land'. Up to 15 years ago, cows grazed it, but since then, only our 2 horses have roamed the grounds. We maintain an orchard and a garden (2 polytunnels) but much of the land has been steadily turning into forrest (birch, willow, holly, ashes, mountainashes and hawthorns mainly). We would like some help installing fences and dealing with the vast amounts of woodclearing. We would like to open some of the old fields, clear bits of the new woodland, built 2 new sheds and shelters and finish our roundhouse/garden shed, which could be easily turned into a cozy place for visitors to stay, provided it gets a bit of an upgrade. We have an en-suite room in the house to stay or plenty of space for a tent in the summer if you like. We share our place with our 3 children, 2 dogs, chickens and 2 horses. In the summer, we work long, flexible hours. There is no routine as such, mealtimes can vary greatly, depending on what our household members are doing on the day. This area is a place of outstanding beauty, with thousands of tourist passing through in the summer. We live at walking distance from the pituresque village of Sneem, on the Ring of Kerry, close to Killarney National Park. We are originelly from the Flanders in Belgium.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use