help exchange   Host 39367
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.6
Persons: 6
Category: Other
Host ID: 39367
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 18, 2016

We have a beautiful small piece of land, around 1.5 acres, near Exeter in Devon. We are self building on a budget living off grid our ultimate aim to be as self sufficient as possible. I have 3 fab children, 2 big but very friendly ginger dogs, chickens and a couple of sheep to help keep the grass down when the mower is having a 'rest'. We are hoping to get some goats and some bees in the near future but will need to get some serious fencing fixed up to keep the allotment safe from those (the goats that is not the bees ;))
I work for a charity and also garden so there would be possible opportunities for paid work during a stay. We have a vegetable plot and I have a small, seasonal business selling cut flowers (which i'm desperatly trying to keep on top of) for local market and a wholesaler which creates a little extra income. I have applied for planning permission to start a community green waste composting site.
So we have lots of need for help in a wide range of projects from general gardening and land management to all aspects of building work to support our self building efforts.There is permission also to build a cob round house, this wont be till next the earliest but maybe something to bear in mind for the future.

'Accommodation would be in a dear little 12ft vintage caravan equipped with heating, 12v lighting system and gas cooker. Also we can offer an army issue bell tent, which is roomy, comfortable and waterproof, this would be pitched in the small, young orchard.There is also a horsebox which has been partially converted to a bar and is home to our piano at present, with a little work and imagination would make a very nice space, and can at this time accommodate one.

we do not have mains electric but have water, compost toilet, wi-fi (slow and intermittent but still...) and a shower you may have use of.

We would like you to offer 4 flexi hrs over 5 days, so 20 hrs a week,this will be for the belltent accomodation. food will be provided and cooking can be shared. in the summer we often cook on an outside fire or barbeque.

At present we are looking for help during September, October and November. As well as regular tidying, land management and building (if youre up for it) during the latter of these months there will be opportunity to learn the essential countryside skills of hedge laying and cyder making.

look forward to hearing from you

Nickee and Family

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use