Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 39395
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

New Plymouth
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1/2 acre
Persons: 2-4 - eg: 2 couples
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 39395
Region: Taranaki

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 27, 2018

I am extremely fortunate to be living “The good life” on my little patch of urban paradise, situated in New Plymouth – “Beneath the Mountain and Beside the Sea”. “My Patch” is a very private well hidden ½ an acre of mostly gardens, with mature trees, fruit trees, large vegetable patch, a greenhouse, a shade house and 5 chickens. Lots of wonderful bird-life with Tui and Kereru visiting almost daily.

I grow mushrooms in the shade house at warmer intervals throughout the year and as many varieties of vegetables, fruit and herbs as I can fit into available spaces. There is always plenty to do as my garden is always undergoing “renovations” as I endeavour to introduce raised bed gardening.

Would love to host an engineer type person whom would be interested in helping build a solar powered drying room for dehydrating food.

From time to time I require assistance with activities such as pruning, harvesting, building simple wooden garden structures, chopping/gathering firewood, garden redevelopment, clearing overgrown areas, composting, gathering seaweed, maybe some inside projects like painting when weather not suitable for outdoor work, home maintenance, want to build a worm farm, keen for creative projects (eg: art and craft, garden art and mosaic ideas), etc. I love artists adding their personalities to my place - check out the artwork on the garden shed in my photos.

I am a hobbyist beekeeper and also enjoy cooking and preserving food in any manner possible and sharing my plentiful bounty with family and friends. I endeavour to support sustainable community groups such as Crop Swap gatherings whenever I can and am an active voluntary committee member for Taranaki Timebank – and am currently new to beekeeping with one resident beehive.

All fruit/vegetables from my property are grown using natural systems and land naturally fertilised and I generally use the square foot gardening principles for cropping.
Organic Food produced from my half acre: Grapes, Mushrooms, Strawberries, Raspberries, Cherries, Figs, Mandarins, Eggs, Rhubarb, variety of herbs and vegetables.

HelpXers must arrive between Friday afternoon to Saturday afternoon if possible and I would prefer to host 2 people/couple. 2 x double rooms in main house, 2 toilets but shared bathroom. Free limited wifi. Only few minutes drive to beaches and walks. Surf beaches and Mount Taranaki short drive. Many other star attractions in our beautiful city throughout the year eg: Festival of Arts (2-yearly - August 2017), WOMAD (March), Pukekura Park/Bowl of Brooklands Concerts, Taranaki Rhododendron & Garden Festival (Oct/Nov), Festival of Lights (Dec/Jan), Ngamotu Beach and Farmers Markets....and much more.

Bus-stop just 3 minute walk to end of street, 4 km walk to city centre (approx 40 minute walk), small group of suburb shops just around the corner with a dairy, hairdresser, french bakery, cafe, fish n chip takeaway.

Full board and food in exchange for 4 hrs work each day per person - flexible around your sight-seeing adventures of course.

Can cater for vegetarians.

No pets preferred but would consider children for short stays.

Enjoy meeting people from many walks of life and reciprocal sharing of whatever it may be ... knowledge, experiences, skills, food, etc

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use