help exchange   Host 39397
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Chicago
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 39397
Region: Midwest

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 13, 2019

We are a young family living on the south side of Chicago. Laura is a high school art teacher and Cory works on local workforce development projects. We have two boys, Bayard, born January 2015, and Eugene born in February 2018. In 2012/2013 Cory and I traveled the world, and did helpX along the way. We loved our experiences and would like to provide a similar experience for fellow travelers.

We are getting settled into our first home and have a lot of small projects to make out lives more managable. There's some painting projects, light construction, gardening, making art etc. We also need help with day to day things, like cooking, doing some deep cleaning, organizing our stuff, and helping keep our household moving forward in general. Every day will be different.

We provide a comfy private room, full board, access to bicycles, and great advice for exploring the city. We expect helpXers to put in 5 four hour days a week and to help with dinner prep or clean up. We both work full time outside of the house, so we need helpers who are independent and can start and finish jobs on their own with little instructions. Let us know if this is you.

Our location is 4.5 miles from Chicago's Loop (central business district and tourism destination). It's a 25 minute bus ride. You can walk to Lake Michigan and great beaches from our house. there's also a wonderful bike path. It's a perfect place for those who like to do stuff outside, or explore the cultural institutions of Chicago.

We can take people for 1 to 2 weeks. Let us know if you have experience with any of the projects we are working on and your experience with helpX.

Thanks! Hope to hear from you soon :)

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use