Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 39432
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 32.37
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 39432
Region: Alberta

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 23, 2017

I have 80 acres approximately an hour east of Edmonton and have been creating a small hobby farm over the last couple of years. I also have 11 siberian husky sled dogs, mostly rescues who have been with me for about six years.

The farm is home to the 11 huskies, about 30 sheep, 1 pot bellied pig, 30 or so chickens and some turkeys at the moment, as well as two cats and an Akbash sheep dog who wandered in one day last year and decided to live here and guard the sheep.

I am ideally looking for 1 or 2 people or a couple to help out for an extended period, from March/April this year,although over the summer only and then separate volunteer period for the winter is also OK. I would prefer extended stay so that the huskies get used to you and bond to you and you to them, but there is also opportunity for a couple of months over the summer time if you don't have availability for up to a year. There has been low snow in the last couple of years, so there may or may not be opportunities for dog sledding, but there is unlimited time to spend with the dogs.

Looking for about four to five hours a day to cover feeding, cuddling and poop-cleaning the dogs and all of the other animals and doing odd jobs around the farm - maybe a bit more in summer and less in winter. Have put in a duck pond last year and planning a vegetable garden this summer, also looking for some help tidying up the yard after some work last year, planting trees and landscaping.

I work full time, mainly from home office on the farm, and head into downtown Edmonton once or twice a week, so am nealy always around if you have any questions or need help while you are here.

You need to be ok with working outside in the cold during the winter, otherwise you just need to love animals and be comfortable taking responsibility for the routine of keeping the animals clean and safe and happy. If you're not happy with cleaning up lots of animal poo this is not for you.

There is a nice basement with plenty of light and own rooms and tv, netflix and wifi so you have your privacy. Room and board provided and a bonus if you can stay longer term.

If you have clean driving history and an International Drivers licence you can be insured to drive one of the vehicles, so you will have transport while you are here.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use