Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 39459
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0,27
Persons: 1 - 2
Category: Other
Host ID: 39459
Country: Czech Republic

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 6, 2018

Building site - straw bale house. Earth plasters.


We are family with two kids. We like living near to nature, music and meeting good people. We are keen on sustainable life style, natural building, off-grid electric systems, alternative economy (LETS), natural gardening, beekeeping. We prefer helpers with such interrests

Accommodation in our old "gipsy wagon" (see photos). Please, take a sleeping bag and head lamp with you.
Our place used to be a village in the past, but it was destroyed after the 2nd world war. Now there are just two new "houses", jurta and some caravans and vagons here. We have solar electric power here, shower from black drum in the summer and big pot heated on a stove in the winter, just a hand pump for water. Toilet i saw-dust komposting one, outside.
We offer: food (vegetarian, local, organic), stay in nature, friendship, unusual work experience. We can share our experience with natural building and off-grid electric systems.

Work to do: Making some earth plasters and walls inside of the house, some outside plasters during the summer. Insulating technical room by wooden fiber sheets, wooden constructing, gardening, digging, making fire wood, ... Depends on current needs and helpers preferences.

Other things to do: scything, cooking (sometimes on a fire), looking after children.

Free time activities: milking neigbours goats, trips around, looking for mushrooms (summer, autumn), beekeeping...

Note: There are two another villages called Hodonice. Our one is not on the map! Contact us for detais how to find us.

Skills required:
Outdoor skills.

Type of help required:
Construction of the house (making earth plaster, work with timber and straw bales). Experience with this job is not required, you can get it here...
You can also help with cooking, gardening and baby sitting.

Number of hours expected:
At least 4 hours a day are essential for us to get given energy back. But we donīt thing too much about counting hours. Border between work and rest is anyway not very clear in our lifestyle :)

We are non smokers, you will be in permanent contact with our children and straw is flame able material. If you need to smoke, you can. But donīt disturb with a smoke, donīt set fire and keep our place tidy. Thank you.

We prefer local products. Most of them are organic. Food is vegetarian. Sometimes it is prepared on fire. If you need meat, we donīt mind if you bring and cook your one.

You can take them with you. Please note that we donīt have any fence. There are meadows and forests around. If you want to bring any pet with you, please say it in advance. We have a cat. There are goats in neighborhood.

Distance to local shop:
Nearest town (Kaplice, Malonty) with shop is 5 km far.

Directions and methods of transport available to travel to our location:
Ask in e-mail for more informations.

Places of local interest:
Ceský Krumlov (cca 20km)
Žofín - forest natural preserve
and hundreds thigs around you in every moment of your life :)

Back to Top
Copyright Đ 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use