Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 39552
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Llandrindod Wells, Powys
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 2
Category: Other
Host ID: 39552
Country: Wales

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 16, 2015

Trying to rebuild our off-grid home which was destroyed by fire 18 months ago. Electricity and internet access is available but intermittent/limited due to natural resources. Situated in a remote location with lots of interesting birds and local history relating to early people and Roman history. We are working towards making our small garden, a permaculture, so need help with landscaping and planting. We are rebuilding the house using lime mortar and sheep's wool insulation with a hemp plaster. We are also trying to make a rocket boiler so that we can have showers. Water is from a well. It is completely untreated but renowned for its healing properties. Accommodation is available in an old campervan and we have a compost toilet in the garden. You can also camp.Public transport is irregualar and a forty minute walk over a steep hill so own transport is really useful. The pub is at least an hour's walk. Perfect if you are looking for a retreat; not so good if you want to connect to humanity. We are novice builders and novice electricians so any building/landscaping/off grid knowledge would be invaluable. We can provide meals as long as you're prepared to eat what we eat but we can also cater happily for vegetarians and vegans. We keep three chickens for fresh eggs and also have 3 dogs and 3 cats. Visiting animals are welcome but must be kept under strict control as sheep roam freely. I can give visitors lifts into town but only when convenient as I may be at work some of the time, although I am happy to collect/drop travellers from railway station/bus stop if a contribution towards fuel can be made (12 or even 50 miles to railway station!). Please understand that we are not wealthy so life here is very basic. We are living in a beautiful location and I am sure travellers will appreciate the peace and quiet. We ask four hours work a day in return for meals and a bed in a camper van or caravan. We can also take people to local towns and events to learn about the area.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use