Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 39648
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: June-September 2015
Area (ha): 1.6
Persons: 1 to 3
Category: Accommodation Business
Host ID: 39648
Region: Nova Scotia

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 6, 2015

I have a homestead c.1854 located on four acres near the fishing village of Lockeport in southeast Nova Scotia. In the summer months I run a relatively casual bed & breakfast, tend a small flock of chickens and a humble vegetable garden and work on various small-scale building projects around the property. It's a simple lifestyle spent mostly outdoors.

I'm looking for general help - with building projects and maintaining the house, garden and property - as well as someone to step in as the B&B host during times that I might be away (or in the event that there are no guests booked, someone to take care of the property and creatures who live here during times I might be away).

***I'm also looking for someone who has experience clearing land: there are several trees that have fallen on my property that need to be cut up for firewood. I will help!***

This summer I plan to convert an old fish shack into a little studio with a loft. Because I only use found or recycled building materials the process takes time (removing nails from wood, fixing up old windows, modifying alternative components, etc.) and unfolds according to what materials are available. It's ok, there's no rush!

I can't be here all of the time, so if you have experience in hospitality and cooking, and you love animals, you are very welcome. The guesthouse is rather informal but does require skill and a degree of professionalism. And I have a Boston Terrier, a confident cat and 2 hens, 3 chicks (gender to be determined) and a rooster who all need attention.

I can accommodate 1-3 people, depending on the week. You will have your own comfortable room and there are two bicycles and a kayak to share. The house is located on a peninsula so there's easy access to the ocean - a private sandy beach is just down the road where you can swim. The village of Lockeport is a five minute drive away and other towns/beaches are within a 30-45 minute drive. For more info on me and the house you can click on the web link above.

I'm hoping to find people who have a good sense of humour yet serious to get a job done; honest; hardworking; flexible; creative and are willing to learn and get their hands dirty. I look forward to hearing from you!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use