Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 397
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.4
Persons: 1+
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 397
Region: Queensland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 7, 2010

Help needed :- Landscaping assistance; Furniture restoration; Carpenter/building or domestic help

If our project interests you here, you are more than welcome. Please contact us about to arrange details. If you are travelling with a companion, they would be welcome here as well.

This is a project in ESK just outside Brisbane. Currently we are creating a very beautiful pond for frogs and native fish along with a native garden.

This project is renovating an old church and grounds for use as a community space - art shows, markets, gallery etc. This is not a religious project. There is an extensive workshop here with many tools.

Here the special skill required is the willingness to 'give it a go mate'.

Our biggest project at the moment is landscaping the grounds and the pond area.

If you would like to try wood carving then there are several big posts which can be carved.

Esk is a town which is 1 hour by road outside Brisbane. Esk has a population of 1000 and is 17 km from the next town of similar size. It is a quiet town. There is a Jump Zone near to here. If you like horse riding or still water canoeing then this is all in the area. Brisbane is 1000 km from Sydney. There is one Train/Bus from Brisbane each day to Esk. Often I go into Brisbane so I may be able to pick you up if you are not travelling by car.

Esk is not a tropical island with all that goes with that. We are entering a dry period where the colors of Australia really show. Brown, red, ochre with dry grass all around. The days are fantastic from now and all through the year. July mornings become cold with a light frost until the sun hits.

Many volunteers have helped here over the last 7 years.

I provide a room and meals and internet access in exchange for helping out. There are 2 rooms available in the house. One is a small single room and the other has a double bed. If too many visitors are here then they can set up camp in the church or the grounds.

All visitors seem to have a great time here. During the week, I work as a Technology teacher at the local high school. I do drink not very much but I am a smoker.

If you are artistically inclined there are many facilities here for you to do your own work.

Tell me a bit about yourself. What do you like doing and making?

See a little of what others have written on my website.

Photos from the last festival here 'Iron and Wood'

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use