Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 39753
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Co Cork
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 100
Persons: 1
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 39753
Country: Ireland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 28, 2017

Hello and thank you for reading our profile. We are a farming family living near Macroom in County Cork. There are five children in the family aged between 7 and 14. Ours is a dairy farm and we are milking 200 cows with the help of one full-time worker and one part-time. We have four dogs - all border collies - who are trained to work hard as well!

We are looking for volunteers who enjoy country life and who are creative and enthusiastic. We of course welcome people who would like to help out with farm work. We are also interested in hosting people who are interested in housework and cooking.

I (Grett, the Mommy!) work three days a week as a journalist. We have a child minder who comes to look after the children three afternoons a week, while I am working. At the moment I am doing a part-time post-graduate course at Cork university so I am busy on my days off, writing essays and researching projects. Because of this we need help around the house (with cleaning, laundry and cooking).

We like to eat meat, so if you are vegetarian and you don't like cooking meat, this might not be the place for you. Overall, we try to eat healthy, freshly-prepared food (not processed) with low fat and sugar content. We want to give our children good eating habits for life. Of course they eat sweets and treats, but not every day, and we try to encourage them to choose healthy options where possible.

The original farmhouse was built in the early 1900s. We have begun renovation work on that part of the house and we would like to have help from a carpenter or experienced construction worker.

Our helpers will each have a private bedroom with shared bathroom facilities. We have lots of bathrooms in our house so you wouldn’t be sharing with more than one other person!

We have a strong preference for helpers who speak good English, but we are interested in meeting warm-hearted, friendly people of any age and of any nationality.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use