help exchange   Host 39840
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

St Michel de Montaigne
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 3.2
Persons: 1-10
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 39840
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 11, 2018

Bonjour, kia ora and hi. We are Sara, Jeremy, 15 year old Elijah and dogs, Nyx and Lion and chickens, so far, hope for sheep soon. We are kiwis and British and have found a new home here in the sunny south west of France at the Moulin. It is on 8 acres of land, some woods, a river and pond, there are quite a few fruit trees, and a newly and very fast growing vegetable garden.
We have so much wildlife, frogs, bird, lizards, even salamanders. Our environment is pretty intact so the eco-system on our land is flourishing. It's wonderful and w etry and minimally impact on it.

For the last 3 years we have been tending and taming and renovating. This year we want to focus our fruit and veg.
Being somewhat sustainable is a goal so our chickens are part of that, as well as being lucky enough to have the fruit trees and good soil for our veg..
We will love to have help end of summer, early-autumn for fruit picking and help making jams and chutneys. We hate wasting food. Similarly our walnut trees, we want to start making walnut oil. We may sell them at a small local shop, that would be fun.

And there's always the upkeep of the land, with hopes at some point to build some small cabins with composting toilets for camping. And possibly to use 1 hectare to plant a newly developed fruit developed by France and New Zealand.

So we'd love people to come and share the journey, be part of a small community, St Michel de Montaigne, and maybe learn new skills as well as offer your ones, meet new people, see new sights.
The skills we are looking for are some carpentry, building, horticulture, ie for pruning and cutting back trees, handy, practical but above all, a good sense of humour and a willingness to pitch in with some hard work.
We look forward to sharing with you, ST Michel de Montaigne, the home of the great author/philosopher of the 16th century, the Dordogne and Gironde area, kayak, cycling, swimming and wine country, famous St Emilion, so pretty. There is Cap Feret, Arcachon and le Dune de pilat are an hour away, and the Pyrenees, for skiing in the winter or San Sebastien, 2-3 hours away if people want to take themselves for trips. There's so much more to see and do.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use