Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 39854
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 97
Persons: 6
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 39854
Country: Turkey

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 27, 2018

* Before you start reading, please note: We do not take on smokers! Thank you very much for your understanding! *


I am running a large farm (about 97 acres) near to Izmir with my parents. We are 10 km away from a town called Urla with 40.000 population. We have 4000 tangeren trees, 2000 olives and about 30 acres to grow vegetables, artichokes and thyme. Besides these we also produce wheat and blackberries. We have our own vegetable garden and eat as much as possible from own ground. As much as we are interested in beekeeping for honey production, we also take care of bees as pollinators. It is a modern farm, technically well equipped and automatically irrigated and fertilised. We have salaried personnel to help us but we also need some extra support. We speak English and Italian. We live in the house which is in the farm. We have 4 cats and 11 dogs. We are very hard-working yet fun-loving people.
We are looking for hard workers who don't mind getting their hands dirty and will respect the order of the farm.

Some of the works are below:

Harvesting tangerine and oranges in Novembre/ Decembre
Picking olives in October/November.
Harvesting artichokes in February/March/April/May
Maintenance and repairs as necessary
Planting trees in March
Setting up the irrigation system in April - May
Harvesting thyme in May- June
Cutting lavenders in July
Pruning trees
Daily inspection of irrigation system (during all summer)
Harvesting of herbs from vegetable garden.
Chicken care

Work is 6 hours per day during the week. Weekends are generally off unless bad weather prevents us from working during the week. During winter we generally start work at 9:00 a.m. but during the summer we start at 7:00 a.m. to escape from the hot wheather. (during the harvest season it depends on weather) No experience is necessary as training is given on the job. Much of the work we need help for is outdoors, so be sure to pack accordingly, at very least you will need a good pair of boots or wellies, a sun-hat, sun cream and clothes that you don't mind getting dirty.

By visiting our farm you can learn about farming, have experience about Turkish cuisine and producing farm products such as soap, vinegars, olive oil, jam, pickled vegetables and wine. (in different seasons)

There are two options for accomodation:
Option 1:
We give a comportable accomodation, a large room, accomadate 2 people comfortably and also a private bathroom. We have wifi so you can keep in touch with your friends and family. We prepare and eat meals together. We have a washing machine that you can use. The person should also take care of his place and clean the room before leaving. You can stay as long as you like, at least a week.

Option 2: (between 25th Septembre - May 31th)
We have another house with 2 rooms, bathroom and kitchen in the farm. That house is 100 metres from our house. We are giving free food supplies and kitchen facilities so our guests can cook their own meals but lunch time we always eat together. There is no internet but you can use it during day time when you come to our house. We have a washing machine in our house that you can use. This option is more suitable for couples or two people. The people should also take care of their place and clean the room before leaving. You can stay as long as you like, at least two weeks.

When you are not working you are free to spend your time as you please.
We can arrange to pick up people. We do love dogs and animals. But we can't take any helpers with animals.
For further details do not hesitate to ask. You can visit our web site:

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use