Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 39938
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Neerim East
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 9.5
Persons: 1-3
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 39938
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 27, 2016

Beautiful small farm with 360 degree views. Central to snowfields (60min drive) forests (almost at the front door), beaches (90min drive) and city of Melbourne (90min drive). Accommodation is basic but comfortable. Single bunk (loft style) plus double bed in private room. Shared use of rest of living area in house.

Food is lacto-ovo vegetarian - you do not have to be vegetarian, but no meat is allowed to be consumed here - the food is delicious, balanced and wholesome, and new international vegetarian recipes are very welcome. Non-vegetarians enjoy the food, and if you are wanting to try out a vegetarian lifestyle, then it is ideal for learning how to substitute nutrients.

We provide food and accommodation in return for max 4 hours per day, or 20 hours total work per week on agreed days. I am a tertiary qualified vocational educator, and very happy to help out with English language skills. Conversational English comes naturally and free with the hosting. More structured lessons attract a fee.

Work tasks are available for all skill levels - there is room for you to learn by working with a host or hosts, or if you have skills/experience, you can be matched to work on tasks independently. There is a range of jobs to choose from - enjoying the beautiful Australian outdoors, or indoors depending on what is happening at any given time - assisting with numerous farm/house projects in progress.

This is a working farm - it can be messy (at the moment it is very muddy), and although you will not be asked to handle them unless you want to, you must be comfortable around animals. There is a cat kept permanently inside the house, and sometimes the dog is kept on the front porch. As the house and farm is being renovated and developed, you will need to feel comfortable with disorder, as well as being good at creating order.

If you like and/or have experience with horses, there is ample scope for working with them here to whatever degree you feel comfortable/skilled, but working with the horses is not a requirement.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use