help exchange   Host 39943
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Tai Po
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 39943
Country: Hong Kong

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 12, 2019

We are currently not taking new helpers

After great experiences hosting many helpX guests over the years, we have rented out our home in Deloraine, Australia and have moved to Hong Kong.

Instead of living in a high-rise, we have decided to sample village life and are renting the ground floor and garden of a small house. However, in Hong Kong, you are never far from the bustling city and regular minibuses run to a main centre and the metro every 15 minutes.

We are a same-sex couple and have a delightful 3 year old (Bastian) who keeps us on our toes, and are expecting a new baby in November. Bastian has just started pre-school and is learning Spanish and Mandarin. Andrew is a vet working for City University of HK and also the HK Government, Steven is an artist (currently full-time dad). We have both travelled fairly extensively prior to our arrival in Hong Kong.

We would like to offer homestay with meals in exchange for some help as an au pair, and to help us make the garden an oasis as well as being productive.

We hope that you would feel a part of our family and we can all share experiences, cultural differences, language and food. A big help for us would be if you could help get Bastian getting ready for kindergarten in the morning and play with him for a couple of hours when he arrives home in the afternoon. We we an easy-going family and like to get out and explore in our spare time, we would love to show you around as well as have you join us as we explore our new surroundings. During the day whilst Bastian is at school, you are free to go and explore as you please, head into the city or try some of the excellent hiking trails in the surrounding hills. Steven will be out of the country for a couple of months Nov/Dec and your help with Bastian before and after Kindergarten would be much appreciated. We would love to give Bastian exposure to other cultures/languages.

We would prefer someone that could commit to at least a month (longer would be great :)). Gay and lesbian friendly.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use