help exchange   Host 40
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Kaikoura
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2.5
Persons: 2 - 5
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 40
Region: Kaikoura

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 8, 2019

On my five-acre lifestyle block, I have a small collection of animals, including: sheep, pigs, pony, donkey, deer, llama, alpaca, collie dog and a few birds (30-40 animals, depending on time of year, and babies!). I also have six unusual rental units and take guests out Llama Trekking.
You will spend about a third of your time with the animals and guests; one-third cleaning; one-third on project and maintenance work.
Animal care = feeding, mucking out cages and paddocks, basic health work eg: grooming, nail clipping.
Project & maintenance work = random jobs around the farm, eg: General DIY, fence mending, tree/grass/hedge cutting, painting, weeding and working the veggie plot, group cooking, cleaning, etc. I occasionally have jobs requiring carpentry, labouring, building skills, etc.
You must stay at least a month (most stay a lot more than a month - a few have stayed six months!) There are three bedrooms (two doubles, and a single shepherd hut); you have your own common room, which has sofas, Blu Ray player, massive 58" 4K TV, and satellite, PLUS I have 700+ DVD's and Blu-Ray's you can borrow! You also have your own shower room, toilet and kitchen. There is free wireless wi-fi broadband/internet. The site is about 4km from the town centre, and there are some bicycles you can borrow.
All your meals, accommodation and laundry are included in return for your help = five hours per day, for six days + one day off = per week. I pay $20/hr for your work, and charge you for your accommodation, food, wi-fi, laundry, etc. Your weekly pay (once tax is also deducted) = $158.
I have farm clothes, coats and gum boots (wellies!) you can use - so don't buy anything!
I need two to five helpers throughout the year in Kaikoura, the most beautiful place to be! I ask for a week's notice of leaving, so have vacancies about once a fortnight, but only know up to ten days from starting, so please do not apply months in advance - thanks.
PLEASE let me have your telephone number so I can call you for an informal chat?
I look forward to meeting you.
Kevin

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use