help exchange   Host 40074
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Nes i Hedmark
All Year: Mostly summer but ask.
Area (ha):
Persons: 1-2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 40074
Country: Norway

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 12, 2019

Have availability from end of august and September.

All year long I need help feeding and taking care of my chickens. I also need help walking my dogs, primarily my youngest dog who is a leonberger boy. He has a LOT of energy compared to my older dogs so he needs daily walking and if you are good at training dogs, you are welcome to work with him!!! I also expect for you to be company for the dogs when we are at work and school. Because of having 3 dogs (1 leonberger, 1 Australian Shepherd and 1 Bichon Havanais) and 3 cats in my home, I also need help with light housekeeping. Sweeping every other day is necessary. If you are good at cooking we can share the kitchen but I am passionate about cooking, so I do not give up my kitchen freely!

I have a large property consisting of my home which is made of logs/timber and a garage and apartment. So there is always need for repairs and upgrades on the property. I also have chicken houses on the property. So there will be need for various carpentry things and some masonry work every now and then. So if you have these skills it is a bonus if you do not have these skills it will be ok! In the summer there will a need for gardening help. In the summer 2019, I have a fence around my property which must be repaired. So this will be one of the jobs for sure this coming summer.

I also have a 13 year old girl who I occasionally need help watching if I am working late. So its very beneficial if you are good with kids.

The work you will do here we will be in agreement on before you come so you have an idea what you will do, but things can change, and I might have a project come up that I will need your help on, but I will keep you informed. Having an open mind is best. Most of the time I only need 1 helper at a time but if I have big projects then I can take more helpers at the same time.

We live on a beautiful island in the middle of Norway`s largest lake. We are 45 minutes by car from all the large Mjsa cities, including Lillehammer which was home to the 1994 Winter Olympics. There is not many busses going out here but if you have a desire to travel a little around I can try and help you get to a train station which will take you around. When you come to me, you can take the train from Oslo Gardemoen airport to Brumunddal where I will pick you up and drive you out to our home. We are living in the middle of the woods, so it is very quiet here. You will be alone a great deal while we are working and at school but when we are home we enjoy spending time with our helpers and eating together and hiking when we get the time.So it is good if you are ok being alone. I have some bikes here you can use and there are many hiking trails around the house. You can also swim in the lake in the summer (or winter if you like ice bathing!) When it is season, we like to pick berries and mushrooms in the forest as well.

You will have plenty of time for being on "holiday" as many of the jobs will not require a lot of time. If it is big jobs, then we will be sure to take a lot of breaks and use several days. I`m quite easy about many things like this. I appreciate helpers who also can think for themselves and see something that needs done and take initiative. For example- dishes from dinner, dogs water bowl needs filled- simple things but taking initiative and doing things without always having to be told every single thing is a quality I really appreciate.

I live here with my 13 year old daughter. I have 2 other daughters who are 23 and 26 and a son who is 20, who do not live at home. I am American so I speak English but I have lived in Norway for 24 years so I am also fluent in Norwegian. We do not cater to any special diets, so if you need a special diet this is not the place for you. I have 2 guest rooms at the moment, 1 with a double bed and 1 with bunk beds for 2 people. So depending on how many helpers I have you may have to share a room or you might have a room for yourself and we share the rest of the house, including bathrooms. Wifi is available. We have just positive experiences with Help X. All the helpers we have had would be welcome back with open arms and become like family to us. We enjoy hearing all the stories from around the world and the experiences our helpers have had. We hope you will enjoy your stay with us and we look forward to meeting you and having you stay with us! If you are interested to stay with us, please contact me, if I feel you could be a good match I will ask for a short video chat on messenger before we confirm a visit.

I have written that I can take 1-3 helpers, this is true but I only need 1 helper at a time unless I have a big project. Otherwise it is not so much work for 1 person let alone 2 or 3. So just ask and maybe I need the help of several helpers and maybe just one. But mostly just one :-)

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use