help exchange   Host 40080
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Staten Island
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 40080
Region: Mid Atlantic

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 2, 2015

Hello! We have three children. You must have experience with young children. The 1 year-old gets into everything so he has to be watched very carefully on the days that you will help us with him. My 5 year old LOVES TO PLAY, PLAY, PLAY. He goes to the park a lot. So you need to be active and enjoy children. My 12 year old is mellow, funny and all three are super cool. We are fun, laid back and flexible. We mostly need help with some cleaning, playing/watching the children, and cooking (sometimes). My husband and I would also like to go on dates sometimes. And sometimes we work on projects like painting or fixing the yard especially at our other house.
We need someone who is very patient, kind and understanding with children because they are just figuring out how this world works. You must truly respect that they are little people with feelings and thoughts and opinions. You will use your words to kindly talk our children through a rough time and NEVER hit them. We prefer non-smokers.
Please have initiative. This should be beneficial to both of us.
If you are still here in September we might need you to pick our son up or drop him off in Manhattan when he starts school. We would like help for 30 hours a week. We can be flexible with the schedule.
We want this to be a great experience for you and for us. Let us know what you are looking to accomplish and we will see if we can help. We would like someone who is going to truly help out. I do not want to have to walk you through everything that needs to be done. It would be very helpful if you could anticipate certain things like putting away any clothes laying around in our son's room if you are helping to clean it up. The right person for us will understand that cleaning his room doesn't just mean throwing the toys in the toy box for 5 minutes. If there is dust.... please dust. If there are crumbs on the floor, please vacuum them up, etc. This is just one example.




You will be provided with a twin sized bed in a room. Sometimes you might share this room with one other volunteer or sleep on the couch if we have company/family spend the night. You are welcome to eat our food. We do not cook every day but you are free to cook. Free WiFi, shared shower and kitchen. There is a barbeque grill and backyard. We are very laid back and welcoming. We go to sleep late. I think you will feel very comfortable in our home.
It is a great opportunity to live in NYC, a cultural Mecca. Best of both worlds... sleep on a quiet rural like street on Staten Island with beautiful views. Visit Manhattan with a 20 minute ferry ride that is free and runs 24 hours a day. The ferry is a 7 minute bus ride from the house. Once in Manhattan you can take a train to famous Brooklyn or to Queens, the Bronx, Long Island, etc. There are SO many things to do in NYC. There are hundreds of restaurants, there are museums. There are many free events and concerts throughout NYC in the summertime.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use