Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 4026
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Devizes
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 4026
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 13, 2018

Wow, it’s been years since we had any helpers….and boy doesn’t it show in the garden.

Anyone fancy coming to stay in the woods? I have a list as long as my arm of things ‘To Do’ and just can’t manage them on my own. My boys are a lot older now and really don’t like gardening at all, so I’m wondering if some of you lovely helper out there might like to stay with us over the Summer.

A little bit about us, we live in a 100-acre organic woodland, on the edge of Salisbury Plain, 15 mins from Stonehenge and the rather more exciting Avebury (part of the same World Heritage Site as Stonehenge but somewhat older) is 25 mins away. Bath is pretty cool and we go to the station in Westbury fairly regularly which is the trainline to Bath if you ever wanted to explore it. There are easy rail links to Salisbury or Westbury or you can get to us by coach via London to Devizes, our local town.

A lot of the helpers we have had in the past appreciate the fact that Lacock (where Harry Potter is filmed: Hogwarts Castle Courtyard and Hogsmead) a beautiful village owned by the National Trust which was founded in 1322 AD, is 25 mins away.

John is a fab cook, the boys are pretty tame and we have a big but very soppy Saluki who loves a good walk if you fancy exploring Salisbury Plain, which is on our doorstep. Someone is at home all the time as one of our kids is home schooled but the projects are mine and I work in London sometimes, so need folks who are happy to work autonomously.

What I need is a happy and confident gardener to take control of the veg patch and garden around the house but maybe also someone who’s into carpentry as we have an old railway box car that need stripping down, cleaning, salvaging and restoring alongside a local carpenter.

There is just one word of warning, we are not connected to the grid so charging phones, laptops etc. is something that needs to be planned for.

Accommodation for Summer helpers is a large canvas tent in the veg patch, offering some privacy from family life.

After all that, I hope if you have read this far, you will think about getting in touch and we look forward to hearing from you

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use