Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 40401
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: For April 2018
Area (ha): 1,5
Persons: 1
Category: Accommodation Business
Host ID: 40401
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 8, 2018

We are a couple (Laure and Emmanuel + 3 kids aged 5 to 17) and we have “eco-created” a tourism domain in the heart of Amiens’s natural site of the Hortillonnages (floating gardens). We have obtained the European Ecolabel ! Amiens is ideally situated 1h15 min North from Paris by Train and 1h from the sea side. We have 6 hut-like cottages furnished as self-catering cottages but which can be booked as a bed and breakfast. We are offering an eco-friendly stay, without any cars, and fully respectful of nature: cars are left in front of the domain and bikes and/or boats are provided to guests. The town center is only 15 minutes’ walk away.

For april 2018:
We mainly need help with preparing the cottages for new guests (cleaning, making beds etc..), preparing breakfast baskets and welcoming guests. Occasional help with gardening would be welcomed (lawn mowing, tidying up flower borders).

In return for ca. 4-5 hours of work a day , we offer a "Nature" stay in an independent flat on the site of D'une île à l'autre. The helper(s) will also have to bring the breakfast baskets in front of the cottages when needed. Food or money for food will be provided. 1 or 2 days off per week. There is no TV, no internet access (but internet on mobile phone works well) but plenty of other things to do around (biking, canoing, fishing, walking, reading etc..). Basic French at least is required. Laure can speak English and we will be happy to help discovering our beautiful region but Manu is not very at ease with english.The floating gardens of Amiens are an exceptionnal natural and historical site and we will be happy to help travellers to discover them. They will able to borrow a boat/canoe to explore the heart of them. All summer (june till october) they will have free access to the big festival "Art ville et paysage". Emmanuel is everyday working on the site, so he will ba able to discuss with travellers, answer their questions. Thanks to our touristic experience we will be able to guide them towards the best places to visit. Travellers will be able to practise French with us and with guests. We are also just 10mins walking from the town center of Amiens, which is beatiful city, rich of history (Jules Verne, Cathedral, Post 2nd world-war architecture, etc..)

Minimum stay of 3 weeks.

Nous sommes 1 couple (Laure et Emmanuel, + 3 enfants de 5 à 17 ans) et nous avons créé un domaine d’éco-tourisme au cœur d'un site naturel des Hortillonnages Amiens. Nous avons obtenu l'écolabel Européen ! Amiens est idéalement situé à 1h15 min au Nord de Paris en train et à 1h de la mer. Nous avons 6 cabanes loués en gîtes meublés indépendants ou en chambres d'hôtes (petit-déjeuner et panier repas). Nous offrons un séjour respectueux de l'environnement, sans aucune voiture, et pleinement respectueux de la nature: les voitures sont laissées en face du domaine et des vélos et / ou les bateaux sont fournis aux clients. Le centre-ville est à seulement 15 minutes à pied.

Pour avril 2018:
Nous recherchons une personne qui pourra préparer les cabanes/chalets pour les clients (nettoyage, faire les lits etc ..), préparer les paniers petits-déjeuner et aider à l’accueil des hôtes. Une aide occasionnelle au jardinage serait bienvenue (tonte de pelouse, désherbage des parterres de fleurs).

En contrepartie de ca. 4-5 heures de travail par jour, nous offrons un séjour "Nature" sur le site de d'Une île à l'autre, dans un petit maisonnette indépendante (1 grande pièce à vivre + cuisine + salle de bain), mais sans télé et sans internet (l'accès à internet via téléphone portable est possible). Le helper devra aussi porter les paniers-petit déjeuner le matin devant les cabanes qui l'ont demandé. Possibilité d'emprunter vélo, canoé ou barque, et possibilité de pêcher sur place! Un ou deux jours de congé par semaine, en fonction du travail à faire. La nourriture pour la préparation des repas sera fournie. Laure peut parler anglais (mais Manu pas vraiment). Nous serons heureux de faire découvrir notre belle région! Tout l'été, accès facile et gratuit au festival "Art, ville et paysage".

Nous accueillons les helpers qui peuvent rester au moins 3 semaines.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use