Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 40416
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 40416
Region: Queensland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 22, 2016

Peaceful Beach Stay Vacancies in October November and December

We are a working couple. I am Irna and I'm an environmental science teacher and sustainability coordinator at a school a 15 minute drive away.

I love cooking and would like to learn other people's cuisine, during the working week it would be great to have someone cook for us.

My husband Eric is a mechanic who works in Cairns City a 20 minute drive from here. Eric's elderly parents live on a large non working farm past Kuranda which has a private river running through it. You are welcome to go there with him on Sundays and work side by side with him to do some property maintenance or help tidy up their mango, lychee and macadamia orchards.

We live in a quiet cul de sac in Yorkeys Knob which is an unspoilt beach and is a ten minute slow walk from our house. The beach has a stinger net and life guard in summer and is also a kite surfing haven. You can always find a secluded spot at this beach . ( it also has free Bbq's )There is a Marina 15 minutes from our house on foot which has a courtesy bus. There are lots of fantastic fishing spots within walking distance.

We have a swimming pool which has a BBQ ,and wifi for guests. We have a room that a couple can use with a bathroom for just you to use.

We have a very friendly young dog who loves going for walks. We would appreciate you taking him for a walk each day while we are at work as he gets sad.

There is a bus stop a two minute walk away and Eric can drop you off in the city at 7.30 am if you are going on a tour. Eric can drop you off in the Cairns CBD Monday - Saturday and you can enjoy the famous lagoon and Esplanade with the free gym equipment and morning exercise program. I can drop you off at Cattana Wetlands before work which is a bird watching haven. I also go past various freshwater creeks and rivers where you might like to see native animals, bush walk, relax and swim.

We would like someone who has paving or carpentry experience if possible as we would like work done on a new patio area.
We have obtained pallets so would like some pallet planter boxes made.
There is always work to be done in our garden.

If there is nothing left to do at our house we would ask guests to help Eric's parents with farm work on Sundays.

We would expect four hours of work 5 days a week ( Monday to Friday ) and two hours of work on Saturday and Sunday .However if you have planned a day trip we can work negotiate.

We provide breakfast and dinner. If we do go out for dinner or on a day trip on the weekend you will be expected to pay for your own food and drinks.

Guests have shelf on fridge for their own food. Eric or I will cook dinner each night unless you agree to do that but you will need to make your own breakfast with toast and cereal provided. Helpers must provide their own lunch.

Just like in any family household you will be expected to help with clearing the table and doing dishes if you didn't do the cooking.

If we sound like your type of hosts please get in touch!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use