help exchange   Host 40436
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 2 to 6
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 40436
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 19, 2020

Dear Helpers,

We are a young (in spirit and mind) French-Argentinian-International couple, Annette and Alé, that after backpacking, moving and living all around the world for many years, are living now in France, in a farm at the heart of the "Parc Naturel du MARAIS POITEVIN" (Grand Site de France), at the edge of La Banche river.

Please, in order to get an appropriate answer, read the entire description and when you contact us please answer to all the questions we ask at the end.

Our place is near to La Rochelle, Ile de Re, Atlantic sea side...

Ten years ago, we bought a XVI century old farm, to renovate it, and we are still working on it, in order to propose BnB with full accessibility.

Our goal is to reach a self-sufficient and sustainable life style, and to share our way of life with helpers and friends. We believe this is our way to make a better world.

We own several kinds of poultry, such as ducks, geese, hens, roosters and chickens, a little flock of sheep, a bunch of rabbits, along with a vegetable garden of 600 sq. meters and an orchard of 30 different varieties of fruits, allow us to be almost self-sufficient in our own and healthy food.
We also have a dog (Lila) and three cats (Samba and Co.)
We don't have any Organic Certificate, maybe we are not 100% organic, but we try to do our best on our own way.

At the farm, we produce for our own needs, and to share with you, many different products such as hams, lamb hams, patés, rillettes, all the meet we eat, wine beverages, aperitifs, Pineau de Charente, and much more! We also produce our own bread, pizzas, pasta, ice-creams, yogurts and cheese, etc. And if you want we will be happy to share with you how to do them!!

We both speak several languages, as French, Spanish, English, and others.

We host 2 to 6 helpers all around the year.

The dailies activities are many and varied, such as gardening, weeding, animals care, woodwork, masonry, painting, plumbing, electricity, and many others.

We propose to you: board and lodging, nice atmosphere, excellent meals (all meals include),our very famous Home-Made Aperitifs, and usually nice weather!
Also, we will do our best to transfer you as much as possible all our knowledge and know-how to live a self-sustainable life.
And we just ask you good mood, love to share with others and to be eager to help six hours a day. Any kind of previous DIY experience is very welcome!
At home, we live as a small community where everyone participates in common tasks, as set up the table, help with dinner preparation, clear the table, etc. Also we will be happy to share with you the preparation of meals, wines, recipes, and much more!

In your free time, you can enjoy our bikes, boats, kayak, ping-pong table, and much more.

Hope to meet you soon,
Keep enjoying,
Annette and Alé

* Please, in order to get an appropriate answer, when you contact us please answer to the following questions:

1) When do you want to come to us?
2) For how long you are available to join us? (minimum of period 4 weeks)
3) Where are you right now? (Country, city, place, etc.)
4) Do you have any kind of special diet or food restrictions?

Thank you for your time, hope to read you soon
Annette and Alé

On your arrival, we will ask to see and to copy, your passport or ID.
We hope you understand that this measure is for the best of all of us, including you!

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use