Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 40444
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 1
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 40444
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 15, 2015


We're Andrea and Phil. We aren't looking for anyone at the moment, but thanks to everyone who has contacted us. We will be looking again next year, so will update our details then.


We have a smallholding where we grow our own fruit and vegetables and keep ducks. We also have caravans to let and camping. I have a preserves business supplying local shops and my partner Phil also does grounds maintenance and building work locally.

We are looking for people to help out with all aspects of our day-to-day work. This could be clearing land, working on veg plots, picking and preparing fruit for the jams and preserves (our own, from local farms or from hedgerow fruit in the local area). We have recently acquired more land for polytunnels, so help getting that ready is needed too. Help is also needed restoring outbuildings and renovating caravans, so practical hands-on people welcome.

We're quite flexible about when and how much you do, but to give you an idea, over the course of a week, helpers would be expected to work around 5 hours a day for five days, with two days off.

We would prefer helpers have basic English, but in exchange, we can help with improving your English language skills. I speak French and Russian, but would like to improve those, or learn further languages. We both love cooking and would be happy for you to teach us your regional specialities.

Accommodation can be either in the house, or in one of the caravans, depending on availability. All meals are provided (mainly vegetarian). There's free WiFi and bicycles you can borrow to explore the local area. We can pick you up and drop you off at local train stations when you arrive, or when you'd like to explore the area. There's a regular bus service to towns from outside our gate.

We are situated in an area of outstanding natural beauty, just 10 mins walk from the beach. We are surrounded by open farmland and woodland in a beautiful part of the country. We're approx 2 miles from the nearest village (Mundesley) which is a traditional English seaside village - busy in summer, quiet in winter. There are many activities around: surfing, paragliding, fishing or just chilling out on the beach. The nearest town (Cromer) has lots of shops, plus a lovely pier from where you can do crab fishing. The area is famous for crab and lobster and there are small fishing boats working regularly. There are regular trains to Norwich, which is an historic city with medieval walls and interesting buildings, and is a thriving cultural centre.

As we live in a rural area, we'd prefer someone who want to experience life in the countryside, as there isn't much 'nightlife' in this area.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use