help exchange   Host 40466
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.1
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 40466
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 23, 2018

Hi, I'm a self employed single mum with two lovely children (ages 9 & 7) who are educated at home. We have a fairly laidback and alternative lifestyle though I never have enough time to get everything done. I've recently set up my massage therapy business, which is stretching my time even more.

I'm looking for a non-smoking, energetic and enthusiastic helper who is happy to do whatever is needed around the house & garden for 4-5 hours a day. This could be anything, but is most likely to be doing the housework for me (cooking our evening meal, cleaning, laundry, etc) and hanging out with my kids. You'll need to be competent, flexible, happy to work on your own and enjoy the company of children!

In return you'll have accommodation in your own room and three meals a day. We eat a mixture of organic & non organic foods, some homemade and some shop-bought. We go on daytrips most weeks to explore the local area, which you'd be welcome to join us on. We have wifi you can use and you can watch tv after 8pm. You would also have at least one free day each week.

I'm an experienced host - we lived in New Zealand for 6 years and hosted many helpers during that time. I always review stays with my helpers after a couple of days so you'll need to be prepared to move on if the exchange isn't working out. I find that stays of 7-10 days work best, but I'm open to longer stays if it's all working well.

I'm aware that the most enjoyable exchanges have been with helpers who are able to entertain themselves in the evening - it's pretty quiet in our house after 9pm! However, I love learning about other people's cultures and beliefs and my son is fascinated by the flora and fauna of other countries, so there'll always be plenty for us to talk about!

Okehampton is a small market town on the edge of Dartmoor National Park. There's plenty to do in your free time including cafes, walking, swimming and exploring the town's shops and museum. Public transport is fairly good with buses to Exeter and to the north Devon/Cornish coast.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use