Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 40523
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 26
Persons: 1
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 40523
Country: Scotland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 27, 2015


We are a small farming unit with 80 breeding ewes, a few pigs which we fatten for the local butcher, two horse and several hundred egg producing hens.

We supply the local shops with our free range eggs and this would be the main area of help we were looking for. You should have farm/animal experience with an interest in the farming lifestyle. As a bonus it would be great if you were knowledgeable in natural horsemanship to continue the good work on our two newly broken highland ponies (but this is not a necessity to you being with us).

Your daily duties would include at 8.30/9am to let the ducks out, gather eggs, replace feeding and clean out as necessary and feed the pigs.

If you were working with with the horse, approx an hour per day.

The main duties would begin at 2pm. Including gathering and grading the eggs, putting the ducks in and feeding the pigs.

Total hours would be approximately four/four and a half hours per day.

Full instructions and training would be given from day one and you would be expected to be working independently after a couple of days.

You would have your own room and access to a separate bathroom within our family home. Breakfast and lunch would be on a very easy self service basis with the evening meal prepared for you. A little help in the kitchen would be expected to prepare, set up and tidy by for the evening meals.

With a large extended family there would be times when there would be extra family staying within the house.

Once your am and pm duties were complete you would be free to undertake any walking, cycling, hobbies etc that you were interested in.

If you were over 25, with a full driving licence with no penalty points, then we could offer you the farm van for independent travel. If not there would be access to a bicycle with good access to coastal walks, sandy beaches and a town available on the local bus route, either way you would have a great amount of freedom.

Length of stay would be agreed after a short trial period, approx two weeks.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use