Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 40536
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: No. Mostly Aug + Sept
Area (ha): 14
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 40536
Country: Portugal

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 8, 2016

We're looking for one or two people to look after our land while we go to Boom festival. Mostly watering, not too much work. You would need to arrive by Aug 9th so we can show you what needs doing, we will leave on the 10th. We'll be back on the 18th, it would be great if you can stay until we get back, but even if you can only stay half the time we are away it would still be useful.

We purchased this property at the end of 2012 and it is still a work in progress, the houses were ruins which are being restored so the facilities are still very basic - temporary kitchen, compost toilet, no shower - water in stream to wash in. There is a spring for drinking water.

We're planting a forest garden.

See our website for some photos of the land and the area. Most of the land is quite wild, we are letting the native oak forest return. There is lots of wildlife here, it changes throughout the year, now in summer we have lizards and geckos, plus birds (although the best time for birds is Spring.)

This is a beautiful area with lots of possibility for walking, although it is very hot over the summer for walking too much. The medieval village of Marv„o is on the hill above us with a castle - see the photo below with the castle covered in snow above our houses.

Work time: maximum 4 hours per day. Some food included.

We eat a raw food based diet which is largely vegetarian but we do eat some meat/fish. Basic cooking facilities are available.

During the periods when we are away, there is internet access if you have your own computer/device and a phone - these are in our living space so only limited use while we are here.

Please contact us if you have any questions or want to know more, we're very friendly.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use