Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 40557
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2.3
Persons: 4
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 40557
Region: Nelson

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 1, 2016

We are a relaxed down to earth couple that have taken steps to live the dream, we became the carers of 2.3 hectares of land a few years ago about 12 min from Motueka up the Motueka valley.

Literally beginning at the grass roots. Half the land was covered in pines the other half was covered in young gorse black berry and bracken.

Even in our first year we come a long way from our humble beginnings.

Our dream is to live off the land and off the grid, living with an organic intention and creating an income for us from the land.
Build a cob house, out door living space, work sheds, out door bathroom, generate power with wind sun and water.

This is our goal a little way down the track.
We have a developing garden and fruit trees, one boundary is a small spring fed stream where we get our water.

We want to return the land back to how it once would have been removing the pine trees and planting native trees.

This is not a project that happens over night, and this is where you may come into the picture, we still live humbly in and old house truck a step up from what we started in.
Your accommodation will be either a lovely old house truck with lots character or the humble old caravan that we started out in.

We have an out side fire bath which is amazing on a stary night, A modest composting toilet, endless water and endless firewood.

WE have made this dream possible by taking out a mortgage the down side of this is we have to work a lot away from our dream to pay the bills.

Free time we both work really hard to make progress and develop the land.
If were not relaxing and just enjoying being in this beautiful environment.

WE could do with some HELP with all the things that go with owning and cultivating land and setting up a home.

There is something to do for everyone no matter what skills you bring with you, from weeding and garden building to building and plumbing, felling trees and chopping wood, planting native trees and everything in between.

we are both open to the land being available for people to come and enjoy, potentially several people living here.

We don't expect a huge expenditure of your time or labor as really we don't have a huge lot to offer you so far in return.
When the garden is flourishing your welcome to help yourself.

We would like to attract people that want to be a part of the dream we see the land transforming into.

What has worked for us with others in the last few year that have stayed is we provide you with the accommodation and we have to say it's not the Hilton by any means.
Any food we have growing in the garden your welcome to use otherwise supplying your own food works best for us and you blend in to the experience of living here.

Do things that you see can improve the quality of the land and living and your time here, apply skills you have, leave your print here for others and us to enjoy for years to come.
learn new skills and have fun, form new friendships.

Maybe you want some time out from travelling some thing different from backpacker dorms or a place to park up and get out of your car or van.

Rather than it being about hours of work a day, for those that need that guide a couple of hours a day would be great or one full day a week what ever works.

We have a lovey cat called Sid and a frantic stick fetching dog called Pinto and when we are away we would love it if you could feed our cat and just be of presence on the land.

Things to do around the area... great walking in the surrounding areas, the Motueka river is only a 10 minute walk away with great swimming holes, our own secret plunge pool across the road in the rocky river, for cooling off in the heat of summer.

More and more native birds are coming to the area. so enjoyable to hear there song, and have there presence.

We also have a little gully of glow worms for the adventurous guest to visit at night.

If you think you would like to be a part of our world and dream.

You know what to do.

We would love to meet you

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use