Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 40669
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2.5
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 40669
Country: Italy

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 13, 2016

Paola and Samuele, we’re a couple on their 40s from Milan, from which we escaped five years ago looking for a creative life in contact with nature, far from the stressful routine of the city. We’re renovating an old traditional piedmontese stone farmhouse located in Val Grue near the border of Apennino Ligure, the mountains between Piemonte and Liguria.
Both Milano and Genova are 70km away and easily connected by train from Tortona (the nearest city, 15 km away from here). Cascina San Martino is on the top of a hill with a beautiful scenery around, near a forest frequented by mushroom, chestnuts and truffle hunters. We’re a few minutes away from Strette di Pertosa, a unique river running within a deep rocky canyon where we often bathe during the summer.
We live here full time, since we both work on the web as freelance. In our fully organic garden we grow vegetables, saffron, Barley tobacco, a selection of hot peppers from around the world and much else. Have a look on our facebook page for more pics!
We live with six dogs, so you really should love them since they’re part of the family. We feed them only with organic , self made food. We accept helpers with their own dog or cat.
We’re looking for someone who helps us in clearing the forest, gathering wood for the stoves and build structures (greenhouse, poultry shed, pig house, wood shed and so on). You could also be asked to help us in masonry and carpentry ( we need helpers with a bit of experience in these activities).
We really like to recycle and reuse old tools and materials, so you’ll also help us in renovating objects and other creative projects.
Working hours per day may vary according to needs, weather and priorities, with an average of 5 working hours per day. Once a week you’ll have a day off.
We can provide good accommodation to one or two helpers in a large room with private bathroom. Good Italian food, broadband internet access and much more.The majority of the works are a bit hard in this moment, so for the next month we prefer males helpers.

UPDATE September, 2015

We need your help for our next projects!

- Clear an old path leading to an abandoned vineyard. As we're be able to get there, we'll start clearing the trees and wild bushes, and eventually plant new vines to grow grapes again
- Replace old windows, frames and doors, fixing where possible or building new ones (any carpenter wanting to come to us?)
- Remove old plastering, clearing and puttying stones and bricks. Restore ruined roofs and walls.
- Build a better chicken shed
- Gather rose hips, hawthorns and herbs to make preparations

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use