Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 4069
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: All Year
Area (ha): 10 acres
Persons: up to 4
Category: Other
Host ID: 4069
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 25, 2012

12 March 2012

Sadly, we are all booked up for the next several months. Thank you to all the people who wrote expressing an interest. I'll be sure to update again when I know I need more help. Thanks.

we are a recently opened and still developing plant nursery in Darsham, Suffolk. We've made significant progress but we still have a long way to go.

There are two polytunnels in which I grow plants from seeds, plugs, and cuttings for sale as well as using the tunnels in summer as hothouses for fruit and vegetable production. There is also a herb and vegetable garden on site and a large area for retail sales. We grow all our fruit, herbs, and vegetables without chemicals. We also maintain a flock a free-range hens.

We are looking for helpers who enjoy plenty of hard work outdoors. The range of work is broad and it's useful to be flexible about what you'd be asked to do. Some of the tasks could include: feeding chickens and gathering eggs,
grass cutting, watering, weeding, hedge maintenance, planting,fertilizing, and grooming for the nursery. This year we are also going to begin to make a series of ornamental gardens, and a much larger vegetable garden. This will involve a certain amount of digging and potentially heavy landscaping work.

It would be most useful for us to have people who are friendly and willing to work 5 days a week from approximately 9:00 to 4:00 with a long lunch and other appropriate breaks, so one rarely works more than 5 hours. We are very flexible as to which days you might prefer to work. It is not necessary that you have any experience in working in a nursery or a garden, we only ask that you are willing to learn, and that you're happy to accept friendly guidance. In exchange we can offer you very comfortable, clean, self-contained accommodations, including your own kitchen and bathroom. We are a 'television free zone' but have a growing library of DVD's and a huge library of books. There is also table tennis. Food will be provided. We love to cook and many times enjoy having our helpers join us for meals, especially when we all eat outdoors in the summer with meals cooked exclusively with food from our garden. Although we are omnivores we are happy to host non-judgemental vegetarians and vegans.

Although Darsham can feel isolated because of it's rural location, the train station is a one minute walk from the house and the train goes directly to London 8 times a day. Occasionally our London house can be made available to helpers for a day or two. More locally there are plenty of larger villages and towns with varying degrees of amenities.

Darsham is located in beautiful countryside in eastern Suffolk very near the coast. Nearby there are many nature reserves, such as Minsmere Nature Research and Dunwich Forest, both with a large network of hiking trails.

We are a mature gay couple, generally fun, easy going, and friendly (don't worry, not THAT friendly!). My partner is only marginally involved with the nursery and gardens as his career lies elsewhere and he is often away. We enjoy lively conversation covering a wealth of topics - music, art, literature, travel, politics, food/cooking, sports, philosophy, ethics, culture, etc.

Please contact me if you have any questions or comments.



Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use