Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 40854
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.05 hectares 500m2
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 40854
Region: Queensland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 27, 2016

We are an environmentally friendly, high vitality, urban bush block, looking for ayurvedic cooking and lifestyle support. In exchange for 4 hours work mon-fri you'll get your own living room, bedroom, front door and share of vegetarian food.
We are queer, spirit and vegan friendly, and English doesn’t have to be your first language! We really enjoy engaging with culturally diverse explorers.
Our block is an unusual native tree filled bush block only 15mins from the Brisbane city centre. It has great bus and cycle routes right to our door. This would make a great base for exploring South East Queensland – there is so much to see around here.
Our block has a fab wooden house, a deck in the tree tops, native bees, chickens and a vege patch in need of more care. Our house is green, environmental, low carbon footprint and chemical free.
We are looking for someone who has good cooking experience, particularly in Ayurveda cooking. We are dedicated to living well and strong, and attention to our diet is part of that lifestyle. We both work full time and finding the time to cook fresh, organic ayurvedic food everyday can be a challenge. We’d love to host a traveller who also is passionate about food, can cook with Indian spices and make tasty meals. Part of the exchange will also include household upkeep such as shopping, cleaning and ironing. We offer long stay option as a preference.
In exchange for cooking, household support and gardening, we will provide you with your own private living room, bedroom and front door so you can come and go as you please. There is a share bathroom and kitchen. You’ll have internet access and a bike, plus loads of info on where to go and what to do in the region. We’ll provide you with clear details of tasks to be completed, as well as menus and recipe books to cook to. You do need to have cooking expereince so that you can follow or learn this style of food preparation. You’ll be required to work on your own for 4 hrs across the day mon- fri making sure three meals are prepared each day, but you’ll get an early finish on friday to enjoy exploring at the weekend.
We are queer and vegan friendly, and English doesn’t have to be your first language! We really enjoy engaging with culturally diverse explorers. We have both lived and travelled extensively abroad. We both know a lot about earth based spirituality and are willing to share some of this knowledge. I am also a bodyworker therapist and can offer sessions as an extra. Now we both work full time and need to bring the world to us! Our current full time work is in tertiary education in the fields of community service and sport development.
* - can't help with 2nd year visa :)

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use