help exchange   Host 40893
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 8
Persons: 6
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 40893
Country: Hungary

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 19, 2019

Our farm was born in 2010 when we bought the first piece of our land. Currently we have 6,5 ha in the low mountain region of central-west Hungary by the edge of forested mountain and agricultural fields with beautiful view and nice weather. Our vision is to run a regenerative agricultural enterprise which based upon holistic management, permaculture and self-sufficiency.

We offer you the opportunity to be part of the exciting initial phase of the set-up of a small-scale farm.

We are a hungarian couple, part time farmers at this moment. Lia has been working for companies mainly as an environmental consultant. She has master degrees in environmental science and plant genetics, fine skills for personal development consulting, auditing, cooking and also plays very well on piano. Sándor has similar experience with degrees of environmental science, agriculture, animal husbandry and also has an education in permaculture, practical sustainability. He is working on his agroecology PhD and plays the drums in various bands.

We have 3 cheeky dogs and some other animals around us. We have visited some farms in the past so we would like to make all volunteers visit a good learning experience.

Currently we have two locations. Our home and house on a remote part of a small village where we live together with ~20 goats, some sheep, pigs, poultry, two donkeys and a pony. It is more or less an urban permaculture site with so many ideas to start testing. Our farm is 30 km away from our home, 40 minutes with regular bus line and a half with car. It is a mosaic ecosystem which was used formerly as orchard and vineyard. All our land is certified organic. Nowadays we have small crop fields, grasslands, fruit tree and forest patches. There are two existing building in really need to renovate asap. These were building more than hundred years ago and we would like to use them as accommodation and living space for us and our helpers. We are totally off the grid. We want to collect rainwater and use 12V system with solar panels. We have a very detailed permaculture plan for the property, so you can learn a lot about designing with us. We have a little daughter and helpers can help with her too.

Current projects include renovating the house, installing water collection ponds, starting new veggie gardens, planting native trees, building animal shelters, installing fences and hedgerows, clearing forest, producing woodchips, soil improvement, composting, harvesting fruits and herbs, run some botanical and zoological surveys and, of course there are everything else! We have so much different things to do, and lots of variety.

Both skilled and unskilled help is welcome, experience isn't required. Generally the work has a physical nature with some tasks a bit more demanding than others. We will change the tasks as much as possible but please come expecting to get dirty! If you have knowledge about illustration, desiging articles, websites or video making you can also help us.

Accomodation for helpers (from April-September) in own tents (we can provide tents in a limited number only), but next spring maybe in the renovated house or in a yurt. Helpers coming during cold weather can have a separate room in our house. Pet could be allowed, please ask beforehand.

We prefer helpers who have an interest working on detailed permaculture/regenerative ag project with some scientific background.

We speak Hungarian, English and a little bit of French, Italian. We ask our helper to work 5 hours/day + one day off. We prefer longer stays (the best would be for a complete season) and would apreciate a minimum of 1 week.

We can pick you up in Székesfehérvár train or bus station. If you plan to come by car you can leave it by our home or go to the farm directly. The nearest shop around 5 km away.

Outside of work social activities include; cycling, archery, fishing, making some music, delicious barbecue with Lia, walking and many more. Our area is rich in nature beauty, full with signed hiking paths, there are some old castle, wine regions and so many festivals.
We're not vegetarian, we don't eat so much meat, mainly our animals (chicken, pigs, rabbits). We prefer nonsmokers.

Helpers to bring: Sleeping bag, Tent, Work Boots, Gloves, Towels, Toiletries, own laptop if possible, and your cheerfulness!

See you soon!!
Lia & Sándor

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use