Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 41347
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: 1 week every 5 weeks
Area (ha): 0.25
Persons: 1/2
Category: Other
Host ID: 41347
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 25, 2015

Hi there,
I am looking for some help in renovating my ancient farmhouse in the Sud Vienne (Poitou Charente) France. The house is technically a building site with a new roof. At the moment I am re-pointing the outside stonework using lime mortar. I am trying to use traditional and eco methods where possible.There are hundreds of jobs I need help with: hacking off plaster, pointing, rendering, cleaning, gardening etc.- even a second opinion would be nice to have. I have all tools, protective clothing etc. on site. You can help as much or as little as you like (minimum 2 hours a day). I am willing to show you how to do things, but if you already have skills - even better. In return I am happy to provide food, beverages, accommodation and transfers to and from Poitiers Airport/ Train Station.

There is hot and cold running water, shower, wc. washing machine and fridge. I have 2 tents inside the house (to keep the dust off) with sleeping bags, camping beds, inflatable mattress, memory foam pillow (if you like travelling light this is ideal). There is a fridge, washing machine and nice toiletries in the shower room. I even have a hairdryer, styling products, brushes should you require them. Towels are provided. Cooking is done via a bar-b-q, I live of grilled meat and salad when I am staying there. This is a very natural existence and must admit has a kind of nice feel to it. The hamlet is set in farmland (used to be tobacco) and is very quiet - possibly could be described as comotosed. If peace and quiet is what your are looking for, this is ideal. The hamlet is believed to date back some 500 years; it is also rumoured to be part of the Camino - some of the houses have the 3 shells above the door. My house was the old bakery and has the original bread oven in the hanger barn. The nearest village (Blanzay) is 30 mins walk away (15 minutes bike) where there is a church, boulangerie and bar. 30 minutes bike ride takes you to the small town of Civray where there are a few bars, restaurants, church dating back to 1200 and small shops. (I always drive but am happy to provide a bicycle to give some freedom).

A little bit about me: I am a hard working and sincere 40 something (straight) hairdresser working in Central London. I am honest, kind, generous and patient. My main residence is in NW London and tend to go to France every 5 to 6 weeks for 1 to 2 weeks. I myself had no experience of renovation but really have the desire to rebuild the house and one day retire there. Itís amazing what you can do when you put your mind to it with help of youtube and books. Iíve reached the point where I have to admit that I could really do with a bit of help, no matter how big or small the input may be. Not to mention, it would be nice to have some interesting and humourous company around and to share the very good St. Emilion.

If you are interested please contact me. I will be leaving on 07.09.2015 returning 21.09.2015 - come for an amount of time to suit you. I will be returning at Christmas - although cold, but nothing an open fire can't cure.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use