Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 4155
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Arezzo/Citta di Castello
All Year: Not in winter or August
Area (ha): 32
Persons: Up to 5
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 4155
Country: Italy

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 24, 2018

*** Anyone out there interested in some lastminute weeding and mowing around the farm? :) There are also various other outside tasks which need doing. Thank you! ***

We are two English friends (aged 50 and 53, a translator and a photographer/guitarist) who have bought a 32hectare farm in the green hills above Monterchi, Tuscany (between Arezzo and Citta di Castello). That`s us on the left and right in the photo, having lunch at our local bar with one of our wonderful helpers.

Anyway, we need help! The site is gorgeous, peaceful, with great views and relatively easy access to the lovely towns and villages nearby. The old farm has been neglected for several years and we need help with the following: strimming (weed whacking) weeding, chopping down trees, general maintenance, helping to create a garden (garden design skills would be great), building pergolas and fences using chestnut wood from the forest... and lots more, depending on the season. We also love it if you like cooking, but no worries if not.

4 hours of hard work per day, 6 days a week, requested in exchange for accommodation and food. It`s fine to work more hours in a day to accumulate several days off, though.

I cook wonderful, real food which just happens to be vegan. You will be pleasantly surprised :) Good vegan cooks or chefs are always welcome. The accommodation is in double rooms in the main house or single beds in an outbuilding, a few steps up from camping :). Alternatively, feel feel free to camp in the fields (bring your own tent).

We are happy to do some driving about, picking you up from Arezzo train station when you arrive and dropping you off when you leave, or taking you to Monterchi to catch the bus to go to any of the other towns, for example, and you are welcome to use our bicycles. If we are driving to any of the nearest towns, of course, we would be very happy to take you along too. If you do have a car, you would find it useful here.

Guests absolutely MUST be animal lovers as we have 16 adored cats, 2 elderly rescue horses (not for riding) and 1 guinea pig. We love it when helpers are able to help with the horses, but it is not essential if you are not comfortable around them. Expert horse people are always welcome as there is a lot we can learn from you!

We have wifi, so you can check email etc. We have Italian CD courses you can use, so you can learn to speak the language while you are here. As for us, we speak English, Italian, Dutch, German and French, with varying degrees of success.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use