Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 41706
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: No
Area (ha): 4.2
Persons: 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 41706
Region: Bay of Plenty

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 18, 2017

Currently looking for couples only with their own transport as we are 10 minutes out of town with no bus route.

We are a young (29/31) Kiwi and South African couple who have recently bought our first home here in NZ after traveling the world working on super yachts for the last 5 years. We jumped in the deep end and secured ourselves a farm/avocado orchard in the beautiful Bay of Plenty. We are loving the lifestyle it brings but would benefit greatly from a few extra hands and others to share it with, aside from our kittens and sheep.

The property runs onto the Wairoa river which makes for the perfect spot to relax on the rocks and beautiful swimming conditions in the summer.

We are very social and like to reward ourselves after a days work with good food and a drink. Louis, being South African is very handy on the Braai (BBQ) We eat simple, healthy food with lots of flavour. Totally open to you taking over the kitchen :-P

Jobs will vary, inside and out…Avocado tree maintenance, fertilising, injecting, pruning/clearing… the list will be forever changing and perhaps we can harness some of your skills too.
Update 20/04/17- current work needed is to help clear shelters & spray weeds in the orchard along with some odd house renovation jobs, painting etc

We plan to build a decking in the near future as well.

We have one bedroom available in the house with a queen bed (single or couple). Unlimited internet, living areas and laundry can be used as your own. Food will be available for you to make breakfast and lunch, dinner will be cooked unless you would prefer to cook you own. We would require 4 hours help a day but are flexible with hours if you choose to work a full day and have a day off.

German, Afrikaans and English speaking

Because we are totally new to this situation we will have to take it day by day and hopefully you can help us help you. :-)

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use