Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 42131
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 17 ha
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 42131
Country: Denmark

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 14, 2018

We have a 17ha organic deer farm with commanding views of the fjord and an organic B&B.

Jens and I are Zoologists. Jens is Danish and I (Nan) am English. We have 2 bi-lingual children (5+10yrs).

On the farm, we have red deer, sheep, horses and cats. There are great views of the fjord from all over our land; with it's rolling hills, grazing, woodland, ponds and streams. Plus we have 3ha on an island in the fjord (bird reserve).
We also have an organic fruit orchard and kitchen garden (which we are in the process of expanding). As we try to use as much of our own produce as possible in the B&B and our own kitchen, we are always jamming and juicing etc.

The 4 sides of our charming thatched farm (from 1777) form a sheltered courtyard oasis in which our guests love to relax. Our family home forms one side of the square; the B&B apartments - another and the 2 remaining sides are 2 barns awaiting development. We have many project ideas for the farm including: renovating the barns and constructing camping huts, composting loo and outdoor kitchen, forest garden, timber-frame car port, eco-hot tubs and much, much more.

The B&B consists of 2 self catering apartments, which can sleep 4/6 persons respectively. We have lovingly renovated the old buildings to create an environmentally friendly space which is both practical and authentic... and rather romantic, our guests tell us.

HelpX guests can live in one of the apartments when they are not booked or in the house when they are. We have free Wifi.

We eat organic as far as possible and tend to only eat meat from our own farm or locally caught fish (We also eat a lot of vegetarian food).

The farm is situated at the end of a 1,2 km long private road which means it is quiet and peaceful. There are great riding, cycling, walking, fishing, and water-sports opportunities (esp. kite surfing) in the area. There are many other natural attractions in the area, including the beaches of the North Sea coast. The nearest of which is only a 35 minutes drive away. For history lovers, we are very close to several Viking museums, forts and villages.

We are a 30 minute drive from Aalborg, which has all the cultural oportunities and facilities of a large city, with rail, road and domestic and international air links. We are 10 minutes from the local town of Nibe and 1.2km away from the nearest village and bus stop.

We are always looking for help with building work (esp. carpentry).
However, life on the farm is always busy, so we always need help with:
Help with the B&B - cleaning, washing, maintenance etc.; Help in the house with maintenance, cooking, cleaning and childcare.
Extending the kitchen garden and setting up a greenhouse.
The animals (Feeding etc and can include riding and training of horses); Work in the woodland (felling and chopping wood); Walling and fencing; gardening and storing/processing of produce;

Furthermore, there can be oportunities for helpxers with special skills to start up new projects, like composting loos etc (see above).

We need hard workers and would expect ave. 6 hours of work per day (flexi time works best as we usually need longer hours on some days. Preferably for 1 month (2 weeks minimum). In exchange we give: free food and board and a place in the heart of our beautiful farm and friendly family.

If the chemistry is right we would be happy for our helpX guests to stay longer during the winter.

We look forward to hearing from you and finding out if we can help each other.... so please do get in touch.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use