Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 4216
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1-3
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 4216
Country: Denmark

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 15, 2018

We are a Danish/Australian couple in our 40s with two children (10 and 12) living on an alternative community in Djursland, about 35kms northeast of Aarhus. We are self-employed,involved in natural building, vegetarian cooking and translating. We build masonary heaters, prefab straw houses and natural paints and finishes.

We don't have a large property and are looking for help in the permaculture-inspired garden and with some building stuff - we are completing a strawbale building this year, as well as some seasonal things like making jam and preserves.

We prefer stays of at least one week and are open to long-term stays. Helpers have their own little garden cottage, room in the house, or tent (depending on numbers) and we share organic vegetarian (some fish) meals. Sorry, but we don't do raw food (prefer local).

We are interested in a cultural as well as labour exchange. We enjoy learning about different countries, languages and foods.

We have a lot of information about natural building and masonary/efficient fireplaces. There are also a lot of other knowledgeable people living in our village. We believe in good/open communication between helpers and hosts.

We live in a beautiful area with a swimming lake, forest, and the beach within 10kms. We've got bikes! We are also open to families and people with children.

There is a direct bus to Århus (45 mins) and good connections to Copenhagen (3 hrs).

We only take non-smokers and prefer people who are interested in a sustainable lifestyle.

We expect helpers to work when we work, around 6 hours per day plus washing dishes after dinner, or cooking. Weekends are free.

We speak Danish, English, German and a bit of Italian and Russian.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use